Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > General Spyder Forum
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-15-2007, 05:59 PM
Player for Fun

Question Question about Valve screw / leak

I am a relative noob here, and have a spyder xtra I bought used. I took it apart to do some of Otter's mods (took out venturi, drilled larger air holes). When I reassembled, I noticed hissing sound from the barrel. Truth is, it may have been there before, but I don't know, as I wasn't listening that closely before I did the mods.
I tried the obvious first steps outlined on Otter's pages (inspected spring, valve cup seal, etc). Still had hissing. So I figured okay, I guess I'll have to take the valve out to look at it (hadn't done that yet).
When I removed the trigger frame to get to the screw holding the valve in, I found the screw very loose, as if it hadn't been tightened down.
Now my question: could this loose screw have been causing the leak? I am trying not to take the valve out if I don't have to, as I understand (perhaps wrongly) that is the most sensitive part of the marker and I really don't want to mess with it if I don't have to.
Thanks.
Old 03-15-2007, 06:08 PM
Need to stop cluttering threads! argharag

Default Re: Question about Valve screw / leak

this could have caused the leak but probably not. it sounds like you have a bad cup seal. it is really hard to tell by just looking at it. a bad one can look exactly the same as a good one and still make it leak. the thing is that the place it leaks when it is bad is that it sounds like its coming from the barrel.

the way to take your valve out is to take the eraser side of the pencil and push it out from the back and through the front. it wont damage it.
Old 03-15-2007, 06:22 PM
not a nublet, sheesh.