Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Spyder Markers > Electronic Markers
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2006, 01:49 PM
spider_pilot06 spider_pilot06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default do i need a electric hopper?

dou have to have a electronic hopper?.. cuz i still have to buy a nitrogen tank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2006, 01:52 PM
DRAGON's Avatar
DRAGON DRAGON is offline
sna'foo.....um.....gesund heit
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Land of the Sun
Posts: 3,658
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

With the pilot? I'd get the hopper before the tank. You can use C02 temporarily but using a cheap gravity feed hopper could turn that marker into a chop-o-matic -
__________________
KUSA Old School Alumni #4939
Registered: 6/26/02
Posts: 14,000+ before the old mothership went down

Jealousy is the tribute mediocrity pays to genius while feeling alone apposed to smiling adversaries....

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=6&dateline=1201845216
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2006, 10:22 AM
MVS1's Avatar
MVS1 MVS1 is offline
Finally!!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hochspeyer Germany
Posts: 1,229
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

Take a look at used items, hopper, air tanks, etc. The sales corner here and other sites are good resources as well as ebay, paintball classifieds (online), etc. You could probably pick up a used hopper and airtank for what you where planning on paying for a new airtank. Just a thought...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2006, 11:03 AM
spider_pilot06 spider_pilot06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

so if i dont get a electric hopper then my gun will break???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2006, 12:03 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

No, but you will break a lot of paint - chop, that is. Gravity feed just can't keep up with an electric gun. Without eyes to detect the absence of paint, you're going to chop. Period - unless you one ball it all the time. Loader before tank, if you ask me!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-24-2006, 01:23 PM
Hob Hayward's Avatar
Hob Hayward Hob Hayward is offline
not a nublet, sheesh.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

Well The ACS works pretty well in my experience, minimal choppage, even on auto... If your on a really tight budget you can get away with using a grav hopper. My friend has been using a grav feed for a year no on his pilot and it hasn't been much of a problem. Co2 is alos fine unless you plan to play speedball and will be putting down masses of paint.
__________________
05 Imagine
Palmer stabilizer
Maddman Rocket valve
Trinity Front block
IPS Sunbear Bolt
Dark Horizon titanium striker

Green/silver VSC CCI Phantom

Red/Black PMR SE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2006, 01:54 PM
DRAGON's Avatar
DRAGON DRAGON is offline
sna'foo.....um.....gesund heit
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Land of the Sun
Posts: 3,658
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

Worse advice I've seen anyone give around here for a while. You say ACS works pretty good from your experience, yet you don't even have one do you? It's common knowledge that an electronic hopper is one of the first things you'll need when getting any electronic powered marker -
__________________
KUSA Old School Alumni #4939
Registered: 6/26/02
Posts: 14,000+ before the old mothership went down

Jealousy is the tribute mediocrity pays to genius while feeling alone apposed to smiling adversaries....

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=6&dateline=1201845216
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:10 PM
spider_pilot06 spider_pilot06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

lol how in the hell does he knoweverything about his friends gun that guys has a imagine w*e tho thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:41 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

Well, while an ACS is a good investment, especially for those without eyes, it's better to have a loader that can feed faster than what you can shoot. That way, there is always a ball ready to be chambered and ready to shoot. What happens if it's not fast enough is that the ball gets fed about halfway and then the bolt slams into it and chops it in half. With gravity fed, or the old shake-n-bake hoppers, I think (if I remember correctly) the fastest you can go is about 4-5 bps, and ANYONE can shoot faster than that!

The ACS is designed to give way and not chop the ball, but unless it's broken in correctly that rarely happens. Now, if you have a loader that pushes the balls in before the bolt can cycle, AND have an ACS bolt, and then even better, if you have eyes on your gun - it's not a 100 percent failsafe, but it's as close as your going to get to never chopping a ball ever again on that gun!

It WILL NOT break your gun. However, it will cause you some problems as far as having breaks and having to clean your gun quite often - of course there's the problem of getting a piece of shell in there and jamming your bolt. Not serious, but you will have fits in the middle of a gun fight if that happens!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:59 PM
spider_pilot06 spider_pilot06 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: do i need a electric hopper?

im really new to this sorry but what are eyes?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 AM.