Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Spyder Markers > Mechanical Markers
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-11-2006, 07:29 PM

Default Just got my MR1 & I have some questions

Hi everyone, great site. I am stoked to be here. I just bought an MR1. This is my first marker. I just started playing again after about 14 years. I am pretty much a newb to paintball but I am learning quick. I just took my gun out yesterday played a few games. Man do I love this thing.

I have a couple of questions that have been been bugging me. The manual say to lube the gun by putting a few drops of oil in the ASA and dry firing it about 5-10 times. However, I've been reading online about people taking apart their gun to lube it? Is this necessary? I cleaned the barrel and the feedneck area. Do I need to take anything else apart to clean?

Also, What paintballs do you guy prefer with the stock barrel? I learned yesterday from experience that different paints work differently in certain guns. I used the parks house brand which is made by PMI (called Badlandz). And I had almost no chops. I decided to use some Viewloader Heavy Metal Paintballs that I had laying around and I chopped almost every ball. At one point my hopper had both brands mixed. The VL paint would chop and the PMI would shoot through it. Talk about a side by side comparison. All I know is Heavy Metal = Bad. Like I said, I would love to get some paint recommendations. It would save me alot of time, money and frustration on the field.
Old 12-11-2006, 07:49 PM
If you fall down a bottomless pit, you die of starvation.

Default Re: Just got my MR1 & I have some questions

First of all, Welcome to the forums. You would be hard pressed to find a friendlier group of people.

First of all I recommend that you read through the Spyder "Bible" (link) It has almost all the information you need to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by warchild71