Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Air Systems
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:16 PM
dopelogic dopelogic is offline
New Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Default Question about "fixed" tanks

Hi all, im new to the forums (and paintball in general). I have a question regarding fixed N2 tanks. My question is just this: what are the draw backs to having a fixed tank? I'm assuming that that just means that the tank will only ever allow the pressure that its fixed at to escape, right? If i'm planning to add a regulator does this affect me at all? I currently have a Pilot ACS with a few upgrades, and a few more on the way (dye stickies, NDZ clamping feedneck, polished internals already done, and a sundragon trigger and 32* spring kit on the way). Im currently using C02 but have access to have nitro filled at home, so im looking to upgrade to that. I've had a blast playing the past two weeks and am already considering buying a second marker (Smart Parts Ion). Anyway, if someone could fill me in on the whole fixed tank thing, i'd appreciate it. Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:53 PM
DRAGON's Avatar
DRAGON DRAGON is offline
sna'foo.....um.....gesund heit
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Land of the Sun
Posts: 3,658
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

There are no drawbacks of a fixed tank. They're just alot less expensive than an adjustable. Get an HP HPA tank for your Spyder and welcome to the forums -
__________________
KUSA Old School Alumni #4939
Registered: 6/26/02
Posts: 14,000+ before the old mothership went down

Jealousy is the tribute mediocrity pays to genius while feeling alone apposed to smiling adversaries....

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=6&dateline=1201845216
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2006, 07:22 PM
thechubbss12's Avatar
thechubbss12 thechubbss12 is offline
Indian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Moore, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,506
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

Dragon said most of it....

If you have accses to fill you own tank you much remeber to not over fill....
__________________
OKC Yayo

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=1831 <-FEEDBACK

Quote:
Originally Posted by vwjimmy
Props to thechubbss12......
the appraisal pimp!!!!
http://www.splatsavers.homestead.com/products.html <- buy these headbands!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:41 PM
ross * pilot ross * pilot is offline
<('.'<)C--('.'q)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 348
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

hey, an added question, even if your spyder is LP, do you still need a high pressure fixed tank (like 800psi) or do you need a low pressure fixed tank?
__________________
TORI

One heart, One love, One Gun.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:32 AM
Live2Play's Avatar
Live2Play Live2Play is offline
Respected Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 101
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ross * pilot
hey, an added question, even if your spyder is LP, do you still need a high pressure fixed tank (like 800psi) or do you need a low pressure fixed tank?
You can use a high pressure tank on any low pressure gun. The reason is, that the regulator on the gun will lower the air pressure coming from the tank, to that of the gun. If your spyder is LP, I would still use a HP tank just so you dont encounter shoot down.
__________________
"Anything is possible. You can be told that you have a 90-percent chance or a 50-percent chance or a 1-percent chance, but you have to believe, and you have to fight."
-Lance Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2006, 10:57 AM
TheRedBarron's Avatar
TheRedBarron TheRedBarron is offline
RaWr
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Over there ->
Posts: 3,029
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Live2Play
You can use a high pressure tank on any low pressure gun.
Not true, you cannot use a high pressure tank on any LP angel that is pre G7 era.
__________________
"If society is tranquil, it is not because it is conscious of its strength and its well-being, but because it fears its weakness and its infirmities; a single effort may cost it its life. Everyone feels the evil, but no one has courage or energy enough to seek the cure."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2006, 02:30 PM
Live2Play's Avatar
Live2Play Live2Play is offline
Respected Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 101
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

Oh, I had a feeling that you couldn't on the older angels b/c I thought I read something about that. Thanks for clearing that up red
__________________
"Anything is possible. You can be told that you have a 90-percent chance or a 50-percent chance or a 1-percent chance, but you have to believe, and you have to fight."
-Lance Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2006, 01:13 PM
Canadianpballer's Avatar
Canadianpballer Canadianpballer is offline
Respected.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

So if I had a Smart Parts ION i could use a HP tank with it?
__________________
put this on your signature if you are a christian paintballer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2006, 01:43 PM
vwjimmy's Avatar
vwjimmy vwjimmy is offline
Here, there, everywhere!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kentucky Bluegrass
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

Yes, Ions will run better with a HP tank! (An LP tank would work but not as well as HP)....LP tanks are really just for Angels....
__________________
Angels, Timmys, ICD Bushy, Pimp, and lots of Spyders
Old Farts Club
Member #12

"Your marker cannot harm me...I'm the Juggernaut!!"
KUSA Feedback +56/-0
New PBN Feedback +20/-0
Old PBN Feedback +92/-0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-18-2006, 02:22 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: Question about "fixed" tanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRedBarron
Not true, you cannot use a high pressure tank on any LP angel that is pre G7 era.
I hate to disagree, but I believe that's not totally true, my moderator brother. I used a high pressure tank on my 04 Speed. Of course, I had to modify the reg a bit and mess with the dwell to get it to shoot below 300 fps and it wasn't to consistant.

Now, it would have worked better if it had been low pressure, but I still used it!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:29 AM.