Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Custom Shop
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-04-2006, 04:45 PM
Michigan

Default bolt airflow mod

Hello all,

I'm not new to pb gun mods but I am new to Spyder's.

I have done the remove the venturi thing and polished the rough edges on the stock bolt and I have begun filing the inlet on the bolt, removing the square edges and opening the inner portion of the opening, basically making the inside portion larger than the outside part of the inlet.

In the past I performed a bolt efficiency test, using several bolts for the Impulse. The WAS Equalizer bolt performed the best. The main difference is the construction of the inlet of the EQ bolt which is smooth, ramped and larger than the other bolts tested.

Does anyone have any comments on the following-
I'd like to elongate the inlet on a stock spyder bolt slightly. My theory is that as the bolt moves away from the valve it "should" allow some extra air to flow thru the bolt thus increasing efficiency.

Also. Any comments on drilling the threads for the venturi larger for more volume?

thanks
Old 08-05-2006, 03:15 AM
Not dead yet!

Default Re: bolt airflow mod

yup, you can elongate the entrance hole of the bolt. but you would also need to some how make the transition not a sharp 90* on the inside wall. with the sharp transition, you would/do have turbulance.

the AKA Lightening bolt is made in the way you described, and with a nicer transition. also, there are other bolts that are made in such a way. like the insane pain sports bolt. at this moment, these are the only two aftermarket bolts that i would suggest that are current on the markets. the others i did not mention are not so good.

but back to your question, yes, it will allow for slightly more efficiency. even if you do not lessen the inside transition.

and welcome to the forum!
Old 08-05-2006, 07:30 PM
Michigan

thanks for the response.