Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Tourney Talk > Players' Talk
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-04-2006, 03:40 PM
Mo Anam Cara (friend of my soul)

Default Tips for Weather

Haha...Mother Nature...the most wicked of all women. There are many things that affect paintball...wind, temperature, geographic elevation, humidity, sunlight---anything and everything can have an affect on you and your equipment. I have been a PA hunter since 1982 and a paintballer since high school...I'm 35 - you do the math.

I'm not a doctor or dietician...but this is almost a no-brainer:

Climate

Hot and dry climates
First and foremost, you need water. The body needs it for everything...hydration, digestion, comfort. Without it you can get sick...hospital sick. ALWAYS have water on-hand to stop dehydration and fend off heat stroke and related maladies. Hydration packs, canteens, bota's or plastic bottles...whatever floats your boat (pardon the pun )
...ALWAYS have about a gallon or two on-hand. Salty foods are also a necessity. Nuts, pretzels, anything with salt. Your body needs it and you need to replennish it as you perspire.

Hot and Humid climates
Again, water and salt for consumpsion and perhaps some deodorant for your activity.

Hats
Keep the sun off your head and out of your eyes. Many people suffer heat/sun stroke, simply because they forgot a hat.

Clothes
Obviously, you'll want to dress appropriately for the weather. Light but loose cotton is a good choice when it's hot.

Your Gear

Markers
Try to keep your markers and paint out of the direct sun (when off the field). It causes plastics (macroline) to become soft and batteries can overheat. Electronics in general, don't like heat and sunlight. Paint will swell, especially if it's a humid heat and delrin bolts have been rumored to swell/warp as well.

Paint