Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Air Systems
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2006, 02:59 PM
Paradox313's Avatar
Paradox313 Paradox313 is offline
sXe Fools
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nor-Cal 530 FTW!
Posts: 1,375
Default quick question

i was watching inside paintball
and they said not to put c02 in a hpa tank or put hpa in a c02 tank

I was thinking of buying a adapter for my dads air compressor so i can put compressed air into my c02 tank

is this bad and should i buy one of these for my stock 05 ACS
http://www.actionvillage.com/is-bin/...sAAAD3sGOlA_2t

ps and yes i do know about the velocity spikes but not so much
__________________
Spyder Feedback

PBN Feed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:10 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: quick question

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You should not put compressed air in a Co2 tank. Period. Stop, put the internet down, get an ice pack and go lie down.

Co2 tanks were only designed for about 1500 MAX spiked pressure of Co2 liquid and gas, and that's only for a little bit. IF it were even possible to get an adapter for your dad's compresser, and you were actually able to fill to 1000 psi in that Co2 tank, you wouldn't get many shots anyways from it anyway. That is, IF the burst disc doesn't blow and you don't end up killing someone with it.

If you're desperate for compressed air, you should buy that tank or any other HPA tank, but for Christ's sake, don't fill your Co2 with CA!!!!!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:20 PM
Paradox313's Avatar
Paradox313 Paradox313 is offline
sXe Fools
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nor-Cal 530 FTW!
Posts: 1,375
Default Re: quick question

thats why i asked first
so
using an adapter for the air compressor can allow me to use a HPA tank for my marker right
__________________
Spyder Feedback

PBN Feed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:35 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: quick question

Nope. HPA tanks fill to a pressure of 3000, 4500 and 5000 psi. There's no home compressor, even with an adapter, that can fill to those pressures. You have to get a scuba tank compressor, or a compressor like the fire stations have, or even a paintball compressor for those kind of fills.

Got about 1500.00-5000.00 in your pocket? Because that's what they run! If so, wanna be friends? LOL!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:40 PM
druid's Avatar
druid druid is offline
Mo Anam Cara (friend of my soul)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: hiding behind my 114/45 :D
Posts: 3,547
Default Re: quick question

this is why......

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:43 PM
Hob Hayward's Avatar
Hob Hayward Hob Hayward is offline
not a nublet, sheesh.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: quick question

Well, what kinda air compressor is it? Can it output up to the 3000 psi of the tank you linked to?

I'd doubt hes got an air compresor cpapble of that, but maybe, if so, you'd be lucky...

At least fiber wrapped tanks don't explode...
__________________
05 Imagine
Palmer stabilizer
Maddman Rocket valve
Trinity Front block
IPS Sunbear Bolt
Dark Horizon titanium striker

Green/silver VSC CCI Phantom

Red/Black PMR SE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:58 PM
druid's Avatar
druid druid is offline
Mo Anam Cara (friend of my soul)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: hiding behind my 114/45 :D
Posts: 3,547
Default Re: quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hob Hayward

At least fiber wrapped tanks don't explode...
really??..........^^^^^^^........scroll.........^^ ^^^^^^^^^^.........
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:13 PM
pman15's Avatar
pman15 pman15 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pa,newtown square
Posts: 559
Default Re: quick question

i wouldn't go 4 that tank because that has about as much shots as a 9 ounce and 9 ounces only have approxometaly 425 shots
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:48 PM
Hob Hayward's Avatar
Hob Hayward Hob Hayward is offline
not a nublet, sheesh.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by druid
really??..........^^^^^^^........scroll.........^^ ^^^^^^^^^^.........
Well thats what someone whos been playing for like 5 years told me. I'll go yell at him...
__________________
05 Imagine
Palmer stabilizer
Maddman Rocket valve
Trinity Front block
IPS Sunbear Bolt
Dark Horizon titanium striker

Green/silver VSC CCI Phantom

Red/Black PMR SE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:16 PM
ooglieboogliebob ooglieboogliebob is offline
Marine Corps.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: quick question

actually the shotcount fluctuates .. but it's probably around the 480 range ... 10 * CI for 3000psi tanks
15 * CI for 4500psi tanks
But that's just an approximate thing ...

Go for the 72/3k tank .. 720 shots ... and just 64 dollars ... pretty cheap i might havta say .. check AVI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:53 AM.