Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Spyder Markers > Mechanical Markers
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-25-2009, 02:39 PM
New Guy

Default Need help upgrading

I just got an MR1 and want to do some upgrades.
Heres my list.

* J&J 16' Barrel
* Delrin bolt (whats difference with low bolt?)
* Fireball Mountain Delrin blade trigger (or does other triggers work for this?)
* Scenario Dreams 25-gram trigger switch (can use with stock trigger or holder?)
* Bob Long Intimidator ball detent (Does this work also?)

Sorry but I am a noob at this and have been researching all these upgrades. Apparently I don't quite understand some of these items. The ones in parentheses.

Any other opinions or suggestions would be grateful.
Old 03-25-2009, 03:08 PM

Default Re: Need help upgrading

1) J&J's are OK- certainly cheap, but a better choice would be Lapco barrels. Their Big Shot .691" is a good all around choice. Also the J&J barrels aren't consistent in their sizing. 16" is pretty long, remember that all you need is 8"-10" of un-ported length for maximum accuracy and efficiency. Any more and you lose maneuverability and air efficiency, especially with a barrel that has a lot of porting like the J&J. Lapco's 10" or 12" barrel fits the bill nicely.

2)Low Blow Bolt from ACP(I assume that's what you meant)- is meant to put a slight backspin on the ball. No experience with them personally but I've heard they're not worth the extra $$$. I have two ACP delrin 3 o-ring bolts (one black with the third o-ring in the ball detent slot and one white with the 3rd o-ring behind the ball detent slot) and an ACP delrin/SS striker if you are interested.

3&4) Can't comment