Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > Non-Paintball Topics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-23-2008, 07:18 PM
juggalo

Default time to vent- a little

"Doctors are lucky, their mistakes are buried; ours come back on a wrecker." Derek Hestwood, my old boss.
To those who don't know me (most of you), I'm a mechanic, and a pretty darn good one, too. My official title is HVAC Diagnostician. I keep the inside of your car cold in the oppressive Texas heat. However, due to our ridiculous turnover, I am now forced to be the lead-tech at our shop not what I was hired to do, and slightly out of my comfort zone. I shouldn't say who, but it rhymes with Fridgestone-Birestone . Anyway, a car comes in for a tune-up, a Mitsubishi Eclipse, 2002ish, V6, no prob. The upper intake has to come off to do the rear plugs. No prob, i've done lots of intakes and plenums. The whole time, the owner is shoulder-to-shoulder (i hate that), telling me how he just bought the car, is it a good car, maybe he shoulda looked some more, he just got out of prison , and lots of whatzthissez.
The upper intake was off the car 10 minutes. In that time I had the boots off, old plugs out (washerless), new plugs in (washerless), and a new upper intake gasket in place. All nuts, bolts, or whatever go into a magnetic tray that I set on the cowl. The intake went back on, everything went back onto the intake, and the car was started while i checked for vacuum leaks, etc. She purred like a kitten.
The whole time, the owner was RIGHT THERE, watching everything I do like a starving hawk (did i mention that i really hate that?), and the only time I wasn't there was when I was at my toolbox, 12 feet away. The car runs for at least 20 minutes, while I'm putting tools away and the customer is paying. He takes off, I take off, end of story, right? Wrong!