Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > Veteran Forum
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2008, 01:09 PM
MR_MILL5MAN MR_MILL5MAN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Default C02 + Ion?

Ive heard mixed opionions on this sum say no problem, some say it completely destroys it, i live in an area of c02 only so should i just pass on the ion? Thinking bout sp1 would that be better?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2008, 01:31 PM
Critical's Avatar
Critical Critical is offline
I didn't do it...No witnesses survived
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: People's Republic of Maryland
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

The SP1/Vibe (they are identical internally) will work with CO2, but you should use anti-siphoned tanks, they still have a few very minor reports of issues, but nowhere near what the Ion does.
__________________
SOC Feedback: +32/-0

"To sit back hoping that someday, someway, someone will make things right is to
go on feeding the crocodile, hoping he will eat you last - but eat you he will"
Ronald Reagan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2008, 01:40 PM
tumtum00 tumtum00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

I have a ion, i use compressed air, and if i run out, i use a 20 oz tank about half full, with a remote line and make sure the co2 filter is in the hole the reg screws into. I wouldn't recommend it, because with stock reg you will have shoot down, and co2 will kill the noid if any liquid gets in it. You might look into getting the sp1, my buddy has one with a black heart board, and it throws some ropes. good luck with whatever you take on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2008, 02:33 PM
Critical's Avatar
Critical Critical is offline
I didn't do it...No witnesses survived
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: People's Republic of Maryland
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

The blackheart board for the SP1 hasn't come out yet, unless your buddy has done some serious modifications so that it'll use the Ion/Eos/Epiphany board. The newer SP1's do come with Select Fire, which means that you can choose between semi, 3-rd burst and full auto, but it still has an 11 bps cap.

Other than that, tumtum00 is correct, the remote acts as the anti-siphon.
__________________
SOC Feedback: +32/-0

"To sit back hoping that someday, someway, someone will make things right is to
go on feeding the crocodile, hoping he will eat you last - but eat you he will"
Ronald Reagan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2008, 02:43 PM
MR_MILL5MAN MR_MILL5MAN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

Correct me if this is wrong, but if i ran a remote line with the ion, if i had the tank sitting straight up in my pack with the screw in going up it would keep the liquid at the bottom and be ok? anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2008, 02:49 PM
mr1newbie's Avatar
mr1newbie mr1newbie is offline
"Kiss the Sky"
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: VA (804)
Posts: 123
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR_MILL5MAN View Post
Correct me if this is wrong, but if i ran a remote line with the ion, if i had the tank sitting straight up in my pack with the screw in going up it would keep the liquid at the bottom and be ok? anyone know?
Yeah, the liquid will stay at the bottom of the tank, like with an anti-siphoned tank.
__________________
Spyder MR1
Older Style 14'' Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
**** www.splatbrothers.com****
Bas!c Skateboards
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2008, 03:03 PM
MR_MILL5MAN MR_MILL5MAN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

so an ion with that setup would be fine on c02?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2008, 03:36 PM
Critical's Avatar
Critical Critical is offline
I didn't do it...No witnesses survived
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: People's Republic of Maryland
Posts: 1,554
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

No, it would be better, but you would still be using a marker designed for air with CO2.

If you only have CO2 fills available, look for markers that are designed to work with it, instead of getting something else, and having to spend extra money to cobble something together that might or might not work correctly.
__________________
SOC Feedback: +32/-0

"To sit back hoping that someday, someway, someone will make things right is to
go on feeding the crocodile, hoping he will eat you last - but eat you he will"
Ronald Reagan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2008, 03:53 PM
tumtum00 tumtum00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Critical View Post
No, it would be better, but you would still be using a marker designed for air with CO2.

If you only have CO2 fills available, look for markers that are designed to work with it, instead of getting something else, and having to spend extra money to cobble something together that might or might not work correctly.
what he said is exactly right, even with a remote line the tank needs to be about half full to begin with, cause even though the liquid is supposed to stay at the bottom if you push the pin in then liquid will come out, and shooting at the ramping max of 17bps, you will get the internals extremely cold at best, and probably get some liquid co2 in the noid, The only time is use my remote line and co2 with mine is testing a barrel or just target practice. but the shootdown is really bad with stock reg and co2. I would recommend a hp tank if you go with compressed air. There are options like a scuba tank and fill station. which makes it easy to go the weekend without getting air. i get around 1200 shots from my 72/3000 tanks, mine is stock but i do have a qev on it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2008, 04:14 PM
deano 177's Avatar
deano 177 deano 177 is offline
don't let your meat loaf
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 784
Default Re: C02 + Ion?

I don't see why you just don't get something that works with co2. There are plenty of good quality, fast shooting markers that work with co2. I wouldn't take a chance on freezing the internals of the marker. If you went with a vs1 you could run co2 and still get a pretty good rate of fire. just my .02.
__________________
SOCTrust

PBNTrust
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:18 PM.