Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Spyder Markers > Discontinued Markers
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-21-2008, 12:08 AM

Default n00b Questions

Howdy gents!

I am new to the whole paintball thing, and have a few questions. (Imagine that! )

First off, I should say, I am not using my MR2 for the usual paintball stuff, I am using for force-on-force self-defense training scenarios, so my supreme criteria is dependability. I am used to an AR-15 or Arsenal AK-47 or CETME, so I am a bit spoiled by going thousands upon thousands of rounds without a hiccup. Needless to say, using a marker has been a bit of an eye-opening experience.

I have had the ususal raft of issues with the MR2. Lotsa chops, not recocking etc. So, I logged on here and have read about 25 pages in this board. I've even learned some of the vernacular! I have a set of Timmy detents on order. I have had the ACS compressed with zipties for about 4 days now. Tomorrow when I get to work, I'm gonna dump an entire 48 ci tank of HPA through the thing with a rag in the chamber as well (costs one whole dollar to refill, so what the heck right?). I am runing an 18 volt Fasta hopper on it. I have run Spyder orange balls through the thing, as well as "All Stars", got lotsa breaks with both. Seems to chop both in the chamber and up the feedneck. I am using a rather inexpensive (cheap?) replacement neck, as the one that came with the marker split up the side when I first put the hopper on.

If between the Timmy detents and the bolt work, its still chopping, these are my thoughts:
  1. Alamo Delrin (not "Low Blow") bolt with 2 O-Rings.
  2. Viewloader XSV VLocity Select Force or Qloader

WHat are your thoughts on these "Fixes"? Am I on the right track, or am I just dumping money that won't solve the problem.

Also, what are your thoughts on this feedneck? http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-SPYDER-TRINI...QQcmdZViewItem
Are these things any good, or just a gimmick?