Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Air Systems
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2008, 04:51 AM
SkinWalk3r's Avatar
SkinWalk3r SkinWalk3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 280
Default HPA tanks have a break in ??

I read somewhere that they do. Is this true ? and how long and what needs to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:31 AM
VS3 Sniper's Avatar
VS3 Sniper VS3 Sniper is offline
*Offical Gun Whore*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 1,269
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

I have never heard of this.....and I've been playing pb for a while.
__________________
armedfuture (3:00:47 AM): I feel like a woman.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred76 View Post
Uh, no we're not. We're pretty much ****ed.
^ my thoughts exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by druid View Post
well...one must change his Kilt daily because like wearing underwear for more than one day is just..........nasty......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:34 AM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

I haven't heard of this either, but it does make sense. If a brand new on-gun regulator needs to be broken in, I would imagine that perhaps a brand new on-tank regulator might also need broken in for maximum efficiency.

Interesting thought!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:39 AM
VS3 Sniper's Avatar
VS3 Sniper VS3 Sniper is offline
*Offical Gun Whore*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 1,269
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

Yea I guess I could see the tank reg might need to be broken in just like a regular reg on a gun.
__________________
armedfuture (3:00:47 AM): I feel like a woman.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred76 View Post
Uh, no we're not. We're pretty much ****ed.
^ my thoughts exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by druid View Post
well...one must change his Kilt daily because like wearing underwear for more than one day is just..........nasty......
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2008, 08:55 AM
Hoppy11's Avatar
Hoppy11 Hoppy11 is offline
SlalomSki stuk to my feet
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On a lake at 36mph on a 5in wide ski.
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

This is a good question although I do not know the answer, but I have a feeling that companys like Crossfire and PE break in the regs are already or use a system like MacDev does on the inline regs so there isnt a break in period. There is alot of air pressure moving through that reg and I would imagine that the companies want to know they are working properly and consistant. But thats just me!
__________________
SlalomSkier8811: i bruised my tail bone and left ass cheek
bamfhacker: nice
SlalomSkier8811: yeah its awesome
bamfhacker: next time wear butt pads
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2008, 10:05 AM
bigred76's Avatar
bigred76 bigred76 is offline
Resident *******
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,227
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

I believe that Hopps is right... wait, of course he is right.. when isn't he?
__________________
SOC (+41, -0) | PBN (+12, -0) | New PBN (+20, -0)

URT... Ultimate Resource Thread!

The [OFFICIAL] Manual Thread!

BigRed Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Taco
ya my vagina hurts sometimes to
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2008, 03:04 AM
spray and pray spray and pray is offline
Spyder Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 940
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

hmmm. It would make sense. But now that I think about it. What makes regs (hyper 2 etc..) need a break in? All they are is just a shim stack that moves up and down. I could understand a good cleaning would make them perform better but I still don't understand the break in thing because of what I said above.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2008, 04:43 AM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

A lot of people always talk about "break in" time for the Hyper II. Maybe it loosens the shims? I don't know, but I do know that I've shot a few cases (less than 10, not much more, though, I think) and I'm still getting big fluxuations.

Why wouldn't gun reg companies break in their regs like tank companies do? BTW, I was unaware that they did that - so that's pretty cool!
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2008, 08:19 AM
Hoppy11's Avatar
Hoppy11 Hoppy11 is offline
SlalomSki stuk to my feet
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On a lake at 36mph on a 5in wide ski.
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

Vike- idk if tank companies do break their regs in or not. I was just thinking that because of all the pressure that is behind it. Just a different circumstance than a gun reg.

I know MacDev is just a stack of shims and there is almost no break in period. I remember when I got mine and I went to chrono it and I was like why the hell is it not all over the place? Theirs is basically plug and play.
__________________
SlalomSkier8811: i bruised my tail bone and left ass cheek
bamfhacker: nice
SlalomSkier8811: yeah its awesome
bamfhacker: next time wear butt pads
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2008, 04:13 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: HPA tanks have a break in ??

Ah, I see. I understand your point, also. It makes sense!

This is one of those cool questions that come up every now and then that no one ever thinks to ask...I wonder if maybe one of the companies can actually answer this?
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:28 PM.