Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Air Systems
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-12-2008, 10:18 AM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,401
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

no, as long as your velocity isnt turned in all the way, you dont need to increase the airflow into your gun. you just need to tighten your spring tension by screwing your velocity adjuster in more. and as a side effect of less airflow, you'll notice less kick too.

ask away, thats what we're here for!
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2008, 10:41 AM
SkinWalk3r's Avatar
SkinWalk3r SkinWalk3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFSniper View Post
no, as long as your velocity isnt turned in all the way, you dont need to increase the airflow into your gun. you just need to tighten your spring tension by screwing your velocity adjuster in more. and as a side effect of less airflow, you'll notice less kick too.

ask away, thats what we're here for!
and this setup will work without a hitch in rapid fire mode...meaning no drop off ?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-12-2008, 10:45 AM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,401
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

it shouldnt. even fully LP spyders can shoot with no problem, and they run as low as 200psi sometimes.
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:09 AM
bigred76's Avatar
bigred76 bigred76 is offline
Resident *******
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,228
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

A Palmers' recharge is near-instantaneous, and even allows the use of CO2 in some markers that wouldn't normally use CO2 (ie, a VS2 or VS3). They're EXCELLENT regulators. The claimed 800psi OP is bull ****. They actually use only about 600psi, so anything excess is waste. As DF also said, because the tank is trying to put out 800psi, the tank can't always recharge correctly if it's not lubed right. The regulator, with all that air in the remote line behind it, evens out the mixture, and gives your gun exactly what it wants. Plus, if you fiddle with it right (velocity screw/main spring tensions and regulator), you can get a medium-ranged pressure without the normal Spyder hiccups or burps.
__________________
SOC (+41, -0) | PBN (+12, -0) | New PBN (+20, -0)

URT... Ultimate Resource Thread!

The [OFFICIAL] Manual Thread!

BigRed Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Taco
ya my vagina hurts sometimes to
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:14 AM
SkinWalk3r's Avatar
SkinWalk3r SkinWalk3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred76 View Post
. The regulator, with all that air in the remote line behind it, evens out the mixture, and gives your gun exactly what it wants.
but what if the regulator is one of those inline ones mounted to the remote right by the tank as in this example
http://www.palmer-pursuit.com/cart/i...f3300511276653
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:16 AM
SkinWalk3r's Avatar
SkinWalk3r SkinWalk3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

DFSniper I just realised you were answering my question in the MR2 thread LOL.....Now on there you mentioned a high flow valve. Now am I still putting this valve in the marker with this Palmer regulator inline setup. Is that the only thing or do I have to pick up other springs etc. if I put the valve in ?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:20 AM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,401
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

new springs will help you with your dwell time, but thats only really for getting the lowest operating pressure possible. and yes, you could take the palmers inline and mount it on the remote you already have, im just not sure if or how it'll affect the pressure going into the gun.
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:26 AM
bigred76's Avatar
bigred76 bigred76 is offline
Resident *******
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,228
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

It will act as a normal secondary inline regulator....


Skin, sorry, got it backasswards. It'll still work, though, I was just thinking of the bottomline Palmers regulator, which IMO, would be a better option.
__________________
SOC (+41, -0) | PBN (+12, -0) | New PBN (+20, -0)

URT... Ultimate Resource Thread!

The [OFFICIAL] Manual Thread!

BigRed Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Taco
ya my vagina hurts sometimes to
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:27 AM
SkinWalk3r's Avatar
SkinWalk3r SkinWalk3r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 280
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFSniper View Post
. and yes, you could take the palmers inline and mount it on the remote you already have, im just not sure if or how it'll affect the pressure going into the gun.
thats what I was wondering about ...it seemed that if it was mounted up there,that there was no room/chamber for the air to be contained before being regulated. Thats part of why I have been asking questions. I am trying to avoid mounting it by the marker because of the "f-ugly" factor...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:28 AM
bigred76's Avatar
bigred76 bigred76 is offline
Resident *******
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,228
Default Re: using a regulator with HPA; whats the point ?

The Fugly factor IMO applies to the remote line in general... your point? The bottomline regulator is the best setup IMO for you, in case you come around and decide to put the bottle on the gun for any reason.
__________________
SOC (+41, -0) | PBN (+12, -0) | New PBN (+20, -0)

URT... Ultimate Resource Thread!

The [OFFICIAL] Manual Thread!

BigRed Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Taco
ya my vagina hurts sometimes to
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 PM.