Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Spyder Markers > Mechanical Markers
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-28-2005, 03:01 PM
New Guy

Default New to the Paintball world with a Xtra.

Whats up everyone? Although I am new to recreational paintball and anything further, I have played a few times. I just picked up a Spyder New Xtra for around $70. I decided to go with this as my entry level for recreational use.

From what I heard you should always upgrade your stock barrel. I've been looking at J&J Ceramic, Smart Parts Teardrop and Progressive. What's everyone's opinions on those three, is there any other out there around 40-50 bucks better? Also what other upgrades do you think in the future I should add. Some people say just upgrade the barrel and when I'm ready to get more serious to go and buy a E-marker. Others say when time is good to buy a E-trigger kit and so forth.

So any suggestions will be a good suggestion in my eyes. I am looking forward to all of this. I've seen nothing but good with the events and all. I really want to get in to it more than recreational in the future.

Thanx,

kishin
Old 12-28-2005, 03:06 PM
Don't make me get my Dremel.

all those 3 barrels are ok, what's really important is paint to barrel match.

Super Duper Feedback
Old 12-28-2005, 03:10 PM
wat

Well, as far as the barrel goes you have several options. For that price range I would go with a CP 1 piece personally because you get looks and great functionality.

As far as other upgrades go, it is all personal preference, your budget, and whether you plan to play often or not. If you're planning to play every weekend or at least a few times a month, I would suggest once you get used to the sport, picking up something a bit nicer such as a Smart Parts Ion or something in that price range.