Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Air Systems
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2007, 12:53 PM
kc0410 kc0410 is offline
New Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default N2 in c02 tank?

Last weekend i went Pballin someone told me they have compressed air in thier tank, but they have a c02 tank. Is it bad for the co2 tank if it's filled with N2? can N2 tank be filled with c02?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:02 PM
The Pumper's Avatar
The Pumper The Pumper is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

no it cannot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:09 PM
kc0410 kc0410 is offline
New Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

so can not...happen?. So the dude say he got N2 in co2 tank that was bogus?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:23 PM
Hossy's Avatar
Hossy Hossy is offline
Has Been
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,401
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

It can be in there, but somewhere online there are pictures. The tanks will explode. Maybe not right away, but during a game or something. If the tank was right next to you during the game and it blew, you could die, or be seriously injured, as well as everything around you (in a few meter radius) could be distroyed.
Your gun would be blown to pieces probably, but that would be the least important thing
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelpDeskHustler View Post
It just occurred to me that "bad company" may be a terrible name for a team sponsored by only one company.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:53 PM
oldironmudder's Avatar
oldironmudder oldironmudder is offline
EM1 Tech guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Arkansas River Valley (left side)
Posts: 1,817
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

They do make steel HPA tanks & if the regulator was covered it could be mistaken as a Co2 tank.
__________________
F/S/T:
WTB: WTB List
Feedback: 120+
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:59 PM
The Pumper's Avatar
The Pumper The Pumper is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc0410
so can not...happen?. So the dude say he got N2 in co2 tank that was bogus?
you cannot put compressed air into a co2 tank safely. So yes, it was bogus.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:16 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

Psssh, you can't but compressed air in a Co2 tank anyways! Not unless someone installed a regulator somehow on it. The fittings to get the air into the tank vs the Co2 in the tank are totally different. The Co2 attachment just screws onto the tank valve, and the HPA uses a fill nipple.

So, unless he's a total idiot who has somehow put a regulator on a Co2 tank - btw, you need to stay FAR away from him! - he's totally full of crap.

Yes, it's totally unsafe as the Co2 tank is NOT rated for the PSI that is needed for HPA tanks. IT WILL KILL YOU OR CAUSE OTHER SERIOUS BODILY HARM!

Yes, they do make steel HPA tanks, but they are recognizable as being MUCH larger than Co2 tanks in circumference and by the sticker on the outside of the tank.

SHeesh, just what we need. More idiots going around on paintball fields either saying or doing stupid things...
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2007, 03:09 PM
The Pumper's Avatar
The Pumper The Pumper is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

Vike, I'm pretty sure the guy just said it, not did it. Cause theres only 2 ways to putting air into your tank.

1. A guy at the proshop who knows what hes doing putting air into the correct tank
2. Filling it yourself, which there is no fill nipple on a co2 tank so there isnt a way to put it in.

Silly Vike.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2007, 04:25 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikingshadow
Psssh, you can't but compressed air in a Co2 tank anyways! Not unless someone installed a regulator somehow on it. The fittings to get the air into the tank vs the Co2 in the tank are totally different. The Co2 attachment just screws onto the tank valve, and the HPA uses a fill nipple.

So, unless he's a total idiot who has somehow put a regulator on a Co2 tank - btw, you need to stay FAR away from him! - he's totally full of crap.
Pretty sure that's what I said!

Silly Pumper.
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2007, 04:27 PM
The Pumper's Avatar
The Pumper The Pumper is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,069
Default Re: N2 in c02 tank?

I know but at the end you said

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikingshadow
SHeesh, just what we need. More idiots going around on paintball fields either saying or doing stupid things...
He could only say, but fail doing.

Silly vike.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:08 PM.