Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Member Reviews
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-15-2007, 05:20 PM
Mo Anam Cara (friend of my soul)

Default Custom Freak Tips - Review

Updatd. Copied from my post in the 'reviews' section.

++

Custom Made Freak Barrel Tips – My Review

Rating is scored 0-5.
A “0” represents the lowest opinion or quality;
A “5” represents the highest possible quality or standard.

There is this member of the Smart Corps Forum who goes by the name of jcurt454, who is a machinist by trade. He’s offering his vocational services to supplement his income. He has an EBay name of jcurt455 and sold several 1” Freak-styled tips he made. He also appears to have good feedback there so we talked about him creating a tip to my particular specifications. His email address is Jcurtindale@adelphia.net and communication was excellent - and my barrel tips were here within a week.

Shipping/packaging: Rating 5

Like I said, he had to create one from scratch but I also got one that already existed. I had both parts within 6 days from initial conversation.
Barrels were well wrapped and separated from each other in the package.

Tip #1 was the one’s he’d previously made. The length is 1” and was anodized dust black.

Tip #2 was the one I had created. It is raw and unpolished.

Craftsmanship, Tip #1:

My first impression is that the piece is very well made. There are a few tool marks on the collar where the tip fits into the barrel back (below the threads/right side of theads in the pics below) but this is purely cosmetic and will not affect function or performance. Rating 4

Porting was done in a tasteful manner and the holes appear to be proportionately spaced. The porting on the barrel bore is perfect…there are no burrs inside the bore. Rating 5