Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > Shop Talk - Reviews - Polls > Shop Talk > Custom Shop
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:06 PM
calebh's Avatar
calebh calebh is offline
Spyder Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: East TX / New Orleans
Posts: 954
Default membrane pad compatibility

in my search for one of the last parts for my spimmy, the membrane pad/buttons, i found this 2 button dye membrane pad. using this instead of the massive 2k2 timmy one would be really nice, especially since im attempting to do this conversion with an esp frame. the connector looks the same, and how different can a 2 button membrane pad be? i had looked at using the newer alias pads, but those have 3 buttons and different connections. this looks like it should work.

will it?

btw, thanks drago for the linky to scenario dreams lol
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2007, 06:52 PM
DRAGON's Avatar
DRAGON DRAGON is offline
sna'foo.....um.....gesund heit
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Land of the Sun
Posts: 3,658
Default Re: membrane pad compatibility

Not sure about the differences in pads, but the one at SD that you're looking at is a momentary switch. It's not like a slide switch where it keeps the switch in place to the on or off position. If all you need is a momentary on/off, that one should do the trick. It would not work with Spyder's -
__________________
KUSA Old School Alumni #4939
Registered: 6/26/02
Posts: 14,000+ before the old mothership went down

Jealousy is the tribute mediocrity pays to genius while feeling alone apposed to smiling adversaries....

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=6&dateline=1201845216
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2007, 07:36 PM
calebh's Avatar
calebh calebh is offline
Spyder Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: East TX / New Orleans
Posts: 954
Default Re: membrane pad compatibility

ya, im using the 2k2 style on/off switch. for this, i figure a button is a button. these 2 buttons should work the same as the 2 buttons on the 2k2 style timmies. it doesnt specifically say power on either button, so there's no confusion there lol. right? a momentary switch would send the exact same signal as a plain button, just get interpretted differently by the board? it's only like $12, i might just get it and try it anyway. it'd definitely be worth saving space in my esp if it works.

hmm... looked closer at it. it looks like there will be some ghetto rigging. but im good at ghetto rigging
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2007, 08:30 PM
DRAGON's Avatar
DRAGON DRAGON is offline
sna'foo.....um.....gesund heit
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Land of the Sun
Posts: 3,658
Default Re: membrane pad compatibility

Momentary is just that, it sends a signal not necessarily a continual power source. It has a sticky-back and an electronics ribbon that has to be snaked through the grip. $12 is a drop in the bucket -
__________________
KUSA Old School Alumni #4939
Registered: 6/26/02
Posts: 14,000+ before the old mothership went down

Jealousy is the tribute mediocrity pays to genius while feeling alone apposed to smiling adversaries....

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=6&dateline=1201845216
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2007, 07:32 PM
calebh's Avatar
calebh calebh is offline
Spyder Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: East TX / New Orleans
Posts: 954
Default Re: membrane pad compatibility

that's what i figured about the $12 lol. k, thanks drago. i'll go for it, once i get other crap worked out with usps
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:14 AM.