Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > Non-Paintball Topics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2009, 04:30 PM
kramernator's Avatar
kramernator kramernator is offline
Its the evil YouTube guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 581
Default vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

im probably gonna buy an hp laptop, this one

and i can upgrade to 64 bit for free

should i?? whats better about it
thanks a lot!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2009, 04:53 PM
kramernator's Avatar
kramernator kramernator is offline
Its the evil YouTube guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 581
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

oh, and how much better is "vista ultimate"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2009, 12:09 AM
RSX99's Avatar
RSX99 RSX99 is offline
Giggity..
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 558
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

Typical PCs are 32 bit. Upgrading to 64 bit architecture doubles the potential of your computer. One down side is, most software is still only offered in 32 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2009, 09:26 AM
Muddytaco's Avatar
Muddytaco Muddytaco is offline
Gun Whore Extraodinair......113 And Counting
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 2,323
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

What do you plan on running/using on the PC?
__________________
www.dliveleyphotography.com

Back to gun whoring.....

armedfuture (8:12:32 PM): I'm a big angel
paintball6684 (8:16:09 PM): more like out of control, raging ginger
armedfuture (8:16:40 PM): noooooooo...........
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:21 PM
kramernator's Avatar
kramernator kramernator is offline
Its the evil YouTube guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 581
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

um... mostly just normal college stuff
maybe a few games...nothing big
but yeah, surfing the web, documents and maybe some CAD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:27 PM
kramernator's Avatar
kramernator kramernator is offline
Its the evil YouTube guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 581
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

oh, and music, so itunes, maybe some audio editing programs...but yeah, just the basic stuff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:46 PM
Muddytaco's Avatar
Muddytaco Muddytaco is offline
Gun Whore Extraodinair......113 And Counting
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 2,323
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

Since your planning on running normal programs I would probably just go for 32 bit, 64 bit can be pain.

Only reason I would use 64 bit over 32 bit is:
1. you have more then 3.33GB of Ram, thats all 32 bit can use
2. you heavily use programs that take full advantage of 64 bit programing
3. you don't mind BSing with drivers trying to get something to work that normally just plugs in and runs


If you get both 32 bit and 64 bit CDs with the pc you could always try both before deciding. It is really easy to format and reinstall the OS when you have nothing on the PC yet that you care about saving.
__________________
www.dliveleyphotography.com

Back to gun whoring.....

armedfuture (8:12:32 PM): I'm a big angel
paintball6684 (8:16:09 PM): more like out of control, raging ginger
armedfuture (8:16:40 PM): noooooooo...........
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-2009, 06:40 PM
kramernator's Avatar
kramernator kramernator is offline
Its the evil YouTube guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 581
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

ok, thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2009, 09:47 PM
bigred76's Avatar
bigred76 bigred76 is offline
Resident *******
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,229
Default Re: vista 64 or 32 bit ??????

I use 32bit simply because it's stable and commonly used. Vista has emulation for dual core processors I believe, which is why mine works just fine with my 2.53ghz C2D in my laptop. I also only use 2gb of DDR3 RAM, so it's ok with that. My photo editing software doesn't use TOO much resources unless I'm uploading pictures, and I use ReadyBoost with a high-speed SD card (I have a built-in reader and they're just laying around) to keep it all working ok.

For a laptop in that price range, I'd actually go for a 14" screen as it has MUCH better battery life. My Lenovo T500 with 15.4" screen and 9 cell batter averages 5hrs of battery life, but their T400 (14" screen) gets 9hrs. That could be very advantageous for long school days without access to a power source.
__________________
SOC (+41, -0) | PBN (+12, -0) | New PBN (+20, -0)

URT... Ultimate Resource Thread!

The [OFFICIAL] Manual Thread!

BigRed Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Taco
ya my vagina hurts sometimes to
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:09 AM.