Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > Non-Paintball Topics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-06-2008, 06:55 AM
durrell's Avatar
durrell durrell is offline
wat
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,941
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus100389 View Post
i just need basic operating speed of programs to be faster, but multitabbing in explorer or running multiple programs is really limiting me right now. im running 1 gig with xp with my P4 right now. its better than most but i need some better preformance.

and yes, that was the one i was looking at. and no, i dont think ill be overclocking so its not really a factor in my decision.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus100389 View Post
ps im getting another gig of memory or so, along with the processor
Well assuming you have the extra cash to do it, you're definitely going to see a major increase in performance. You're pretty much doubling everything you have now. Probably overkill for what you need, but if you have the cash then go for it.

PS: I'm running the same setup as you (P4 Northwood 3.00ghz HT, 1GB of RAM) and I run some pretty intense programs. Are you sure you shouldn't just try a reformat of XP and then maybe another gig of RAM before you go and spend all that cash? Just a suggestion. Depending on how old your XP install is, that can make a pretty big difference in speed. Windows gets bogged down after awhile.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-06-2008, 08:25 AM
maximus100389's Avatar
maximus100389 maximus100389 is offline
You're a noob.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WWU
Posts: 360
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

ill try the ram first, you can buy a gig online at newegg for $30-$40
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-06-2008, 08:43 AM
maximus100389's Avatar
maximus100389 maximus100389 is offline
You're a noob.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WWU
Posts: 360
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

i dont have a boot disk anyways so i cant reformat unless i call gateway and ask for one, and they will probably charge me
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-06-2008, 01:51 PM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,405
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelpDeskHustler View Post
Your Bus speed will be hard limited by the motherboard, so it may still be 800 even though you could send 1333. You need to check that, as it will be a significant factor in how fast things are done. 800 is pretty high though.
i beg to differ. 800 is base line now. most mobos are 1000 to 1333 while the good ones are 1333/1600.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddytaco View Post
Just remember that if your running XP your limited to 3.33 GB of ram no matter how much you put in, so don't go crazy with the ram.
yeah, my friend found that out the hard way. im surprised microsoft hasnt fixed that yet since they fixed the 137gb HDD cap with SP2...
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:07 PM
durrell's Avatar
durrell durrell is offline
wat
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,941
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus100389 View Post
i dont have a boot disk anyways so i cant reformat unless i call gateway and ask for one, and they will probably charge me
You're going to have to reformat anyway when you get the new mobo and processor, so you may want to look into that.

Good call on trying the RAM first, though. I'm fairly certain it will do what you need it to. Just make sure it's compatible with your mobo. And if your mobo supports dual-channel RAM, go with a "kit" of two sticks of RAM. It's definitely worth the extra to have 2 sticks operating in dual-channel vs. non-dual-channel.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:17 PM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,405
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

D, that what i always heard, but from past experiences, my friends and i have never had to reformat the c drive with either the new cpu or mobo...

and while ram will increase your performance, unless you add about at least 512, you wont see much of an increase. cpus on the other hand increase your speed significantly. try to just free up your ram with Free RAM XP Pro.
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:19 PM
durrell's Avatar
durrell durrell is offline
wat
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,941
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

Oh yeah, well today normally you upgrade RAM by the gig. So from 1GB to 2GB.

And I've never changed a proc before so I'm not sure about that. I know if it was me, I'd want to reformat..but that's just me. If you can get by without it, I guess that's your choice.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:43 PM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,405
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

my best friend's cpu died, so he went ahead and built himself a new pc (later we found out that the mobo fried too.)

he went from an AMD 3400 1.8 GHz (OC'd to 2.5) on an Asus motherboard to an Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz (OC'd to 3.2) and a DLI Lanparty mobo. i'm sure that theres drivers from the mobo and AMD sitting on his HDD that are just taking up room, but its not that big of a deal. and if you can't get TuneUp Utilities to get it off, you can always go in and delete them yourself.
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-06-2008, 05:20 PM
maximus100389's Avatar
maximus100389 maximus100389 is offline
You're a noob.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WWU
Posts: 360
Default Re: Need help from computer people about processors

well im def going with the ram upgrade first even if i decide beforehand to buy a new cpu

thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:37 PM.