Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > Veteran Forum
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:42 PM
pman15's Avatar
pman15 pman15 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pa,newtown square
Posts: 559
Default quick question

like the title says, i am going to buy a 88/4500 hpa tank but i have a question, what does hpa mean, i believe hpa is compressed air, but i have a tank that fills my co2 tanks and i was wondering if i were 2 buy a hpa tank could it be filled up with the compressed air i use 2 fill up my co2?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:46 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: quick question

HPA stands for High Pressure Air, which of course is compressed air. You can't use the compressed air that you use to fill your Co2 tanks. There's no cutting corners with HPA. You HAVE to get a compressor capable or compressing air to those PSI's or you can take it to the field and get it refilled (if it's available.)

However, there is another option. You can go to the same place you got that Co2 tank and they will have Nitrogen, which does the same thing as compressed air (my field uses it.)
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:51 PM
druid's Avatar
druid druid is offline
Mo Anam Cara (friend of my soul)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: hiding behind my 114/45 :D
Posts: 3,547
Default Re: quick question

HPA is a general term used to describe the tank and what type of gas to put in it. High Pressure Air and Nitrogen (N2) are basicly the same gasses when it comes to this type of bottle and are interchangable when you get a refill. Either is acceptable to fill that tank with.
CO2 is NOT to be put into an HPA bottle, or vice versa. If they were, there wouldn't be so many different types of bottles...there'd be only one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2006, 03:57 PM
pman15's Avatar
pman15 pman15 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pa,newtown square
Posts: 559
Default Re: quick question

so basicly druid and vikingshadow are saying that if i was 2 get a hpa tank i cannot fill it up with the tank i use 2 fill up my co2 with?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:29 PM
vikingshadow's Avatar
vikingshadow vikingshadow is offline
Ah-roo! Ah-roo! Ah-roo!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Where my stuff is. Duh!
Posts: 6,950
Default Re: quick question

Right.
__________________
Pressing on
Never argue with an idiot; they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." ~ Anonymous
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:03 PM
druid's Avatar
druid druid is offline
Mo Anam Cara (friend of my soul)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: hiding behind my 114/45 :D
Posts: 3,547
Default Re: quick question

precisely
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:50 AM
colonel_moo's Avatar
colonel_moo colonel_moo is offline
Matrix Connoisseur
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: OS KUSA: 10/02 add 2600 posts
Posts: 879
Default Re: quick question

yes. HPA is just that, gasses compressed to very high pressures. CO2 is not air, nor is it even a gas inside the bottle. when co2 is pressurized, it condenses into liquid, and thats actually what is inside your bottle. co2 will damage an HPA bottle.
__________________
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute - 2011
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:08 PM.