Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > Non-Paintball Topics
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2009, 08:22 AM
speed speed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 59
Exclamation computer help

Hey guys so here's my problem i have a laptop for high school buts its on the second floor and my router is on the second and the connection is horrible. I also have a 360 so playing online is a hassle. I've heard about a signal booster but have no idea what it does, how it works or what i need to get. So if any of you computer geniuses can help that would be great. Thanxs in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2009, 09:24 AM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,401
Default Re: computer help

signal boosters are $$. your best bet would be to attach another router to another computer in the house and use that as an access point, or get a better router/wireless card. i'm partial to netgear myself.

if it makes you feel any better, theres a microwave between my pc and my router, so i have a habit of losing signal every time someone heats up food.
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2009, 12:50 PM
speed speed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: computer help

thats really sucks, but the only other computer in the basement so that's not gonna work. How much would a booster run for? Also do i need to get a new router if i do get a booster, currently i have a Actiontec router
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2009, 01:02 PM
DFSniper's Avatar
DFSniper DFSniper is offline
Official SOC Short Bus Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 8,401
Default Re: computer help

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833164150

this one actually isnt too bad, about the price of another router.

also, dont put your router in a corner. you get a better signal if its not up against walls.
__________________
8/23/03 OS KUSA #10898
Spyder to pump conversion tutorial!
Project LP Reposted!

Sales Thread

Feedback

Quote:
(7:11:05 PM) Battlechaser: Did you just slaughter George Clooney and steal his mojo..?
"Death doesn't exist. It never did, it never will. But we've drawn so many pictures of it, so many years, trying to pin it down, comprehend it, we've got to think of it as an entity, strangely alive and greedy."
- from Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked this Way Comes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2009, 01:19 PM
speed speed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 59
Default Re: computer help

thanxs, will i need to buy a new router for this to work, also i have Verizon if that affects any things
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:09 PM.