Spyder Forums  

Go Back   Spyder Forums > General Spyder Discussion > General Spyder Forum
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2008, 07:45 PM
EyeMaster EyeMaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default RS On/Off switch don't reach

Well, I got my new RS and charged it up to test it out. At first, I couldn't turn it on, I got upset and thought "Darnit! I don't want a DOA!" So I open up the handle to see if I can find the problem, I take the board out, plug in the battery again and try the on / off button, it works perfectly.

The problem is that the buttons don't reach deep enough in their holes to be pressed when everything is closed up.

Does anyone have a solution?

If the buttons were but 1mm - 1.5mm longer, I would not have an issue. Or, if the board would fit flat on the side that the buttons are, they would also work, but the milling process has a round corner that prevented the board to be flat because of it's square corner, so the holes drilled to hold the board are just a bit over 1mm at the wrong position.

I could just shave the corner of the board that causes it to not be flush, and then cut the corner of the circuit board so that the screw can be off center, but that doesn't sound like a good idea.

What I'm thinking of right now is to use some JB Weld to make the buttons longer by about 1mm or so, that way I don't have to mess around with its electronic parts.

I'm open to suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2008, 07:39 AM
Kingman-Rep's Avatar
Kingman-Rep Kingman-Rep is offline

Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a box!
Posts: 342
Default Re: RS On/Off switch don't reach

Did you try repositioning the board at all?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2008, 07:57 AM
EyeMaster EyeMaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: RS On/Off switch don't reach

I can't reposition the board. The screws are the exact size of the holes in the board to hold it, so nothing can be moved since I can't move the screw holes on the handle of the gun. That was what I wanted to do at first, but is impossible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2008, 12:14 PM
Kingman-Rep's Avatar
Kingman-Rep Kingman-Rep is offline

Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In a box!
Posts: 342
Default Re: RS On/Off switch don't reach

call 888-546-4626 press 0 for the operator and ask for Tech support. One of the guys can help you out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2008, 04:26 PM
EyeMaster EyeMaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: RS On/Off switch don't reach

Thanks, will do! I was just about to put some JBWeld on the buttons to make them 1mm longer, I'll wait till I talk to someone.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2008, 10:49 AM
EyeMaster EyeMaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: RS On/Off switch don't reach

No one's answering the phones and I can't leave a message!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:30 PM.