PDA

View Full Version : MR1 customized stock options

Jack The Knife
03-12-2007, 11:58 AM
Hello!
I'm new to these fora and new to paintball.
After many hours spent reading about the net to find the marker that will suit me best, I ordered a MR1 and I'm very excited about getting it.

I have read about the design flaws the MR1 carries; the stock getting in the way of the goggles in particular, and that many have cut off the 'top rail' in order to use the sights.

Of all the photos I saw of the modified stocks, almost everyone had the 'top rail' completely removed. Some said it would not break while others said they broke it easily.

Is it possible to just bend the top rail down and glue it onto the 'bottom rail' to make a it a bit tougher, instead of completely removing it.

My question is: does the rail bend without cracking if heated?
Will the suggestions on the photos below work, or will the rail just break into pieces?

Thanks in advance.

Regards

The Knife

(I know the photoshopping is crude)

Crimson.Soldier
03-13-2007, 08:52 AM
I was going to attempt that, but I felt that heating the stock would weaken it more than just cutting it off. My stock has been fine, and if you wanted to strengthen the stock I was thinking that you could take the top rail and remove it and then bolt it or mount it between the bottom rail and the top of the back part of the stock.

Syder Sniper
03-13-2007, 06:52 PM
I cut the top rail off the stock of my gun and it does not weaken the rail. it now gives me more room to look around and does not get in the way:D

Ace24
03-13-2007, 07:06 PM
I cut the top of mine and it snapped in my face when I poked out from behind a bunker... I had a nice gouge in my cheek from that peice of ****. Oh well. Proteam FX stock here I come.

Hob Hayward
03-13-2007, 07:16 PM
It was only a POS because you made it one :p.