PDA

View Full Version : Filling HPA


weitjosh
03-08-2007, 08:53 PM
I look online for hpa refill stations and i keep getting this item that allows yo uto fill tanks from a scuba tank. so basically all that is in a hpa tank ia what we breathe?? if so, in theory, i could buy this item, take it to a friend of mine that works fr the fire department, and have him fill it off of their scuba tanks?? refilling them afterwards of course. correct me if im wrong

Sandman_Bravo
03-09-2007, 02:40 AM
Fire "scuba" (technically not a Self Contained UNDERWATER Breathing Apparatus) tanks have different valve configurations than diving tanks.
see these threads:
http://www.spyder.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=9525

http://www.spyder.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=7921

nbishop66
03-09-2007, 11:54 AM
Fire "scuba" (technically not a Self Contained UNDERWATER Breathing Apparatus) tanks have different valve configurations than diving tanks.
see these threads:

Sandman is correct, a scuba tank has a different fitting than an SCBA tank, but my department has a dive team and we have the capability to fill both SCBA and Scuba

I don't know if the department in your town has a dive team, but if they do, you should be OK. I grabbed one of our old steel dive tanks and made it my own personal filling station. It's only 3k psi, but that's perfect because that's what my HPA tank is. I bought the $40 Scuba fill station from ActionVillage, it works just fine. I have a field in my woods and my son and I get about 3 usable fills each.