PDA

View Full Version : What model is this? and more...

Bilbo
02-13-2007, 04:27 AM
Hello all,
I am a relative newbie to the paintball scene. Played a few times in my teens and now, 20 yrs later, getting back into it. I bought an old, used Spyder the other day. It works great, but I can't figure out what model it is. Picture is attached. The side says "Spyder" and "Semi Automatic .68 Caliber." I tried to compare it to the diagrams on the Kingman site, and the closest thing is the "Spyder Caliber .68" but even that isn't a dead on match. Note that there is a VA, but no expansion chamber or low pressure chamber extending from the front of it. Also, the marker has an M-16 grip, but it is not tapped for an asa. I thought at first the guy who sold it had taken off a pass-thru front grip, added the M16 grip, and converted it from horizontal to vertical. But when I called him he said no, that's the way he got it new.
As I said, I still like the gun. Sure, it's old, but with a little oil it fired 50 2-year-old balls in a burst without a break or jam, and it doesn't leak, which is pretty good for a gun that's been sitting so long. The vertical tank takes a little getting used to, but it does make for a more compact marker. The only thing I don't like, and this is a feature of most Spyders, is the way the feed tube blocks sighting over the barrel.

So, all that said, a few questions:
- Does anyone out there have a better idea as to model? The seller said this marker was actually made by Sheridan, not Kingman, but I can't find anything about it on Sheridan's site, either.
- If you do know what model it is, do you know where I can find diagrams or a manual?
- How does the velocity adjustment screw work? Clockwise for faster, or vice-versa?
- Why did they even bother with the sight rail, since you can't see past the feed tube?