Hossy
02-03-2007, 02:45 PM
If you frequent the chat, you may know i am makeing my way out of paintball, because since highschool has started for me, and other sports taking up much of my time and commitment, im trying to slowly move out of the sport. I will be planning to sell my paintball stuff, to get a car. Well i found a great deal on Craigslist, where Mike really got me hooked onto. But, as we all know, there are scammers everwhere in our world. Ive read on Craigslist that there are scams, usually comming from overseas, with wiretransfers and all. Well I was looking around, and found a Jetta, yes some of you may say its a chick car, but ive read up on them and zomg, this is nice, and has some stuff on it that makes it look like a faster car than it is. So, my question to you is does this look like a scam, comming from overseas, and having it on a craigslist over here? I wrote an email to the seller, and this is what he said.
TL;DR (just cause i dont like it when vike doesnt have one :p ) Read the Email below, I am interested in buying car, and answer the questions at the bottom.
Hello,
and thank you for your interest in my car. The Jetta looks and runs exactly as new. It has a 1.8Turbo engine with an automatic transmission. Overall this car has been kept clean and is in good condition! The title is clean, and you will receive it along with the car, so you will have no problems whatsoever registering it there. The vin # is: (taken out just incase). This car has ALWAYS been ADULT driven. This is a ONE owner adult owned car, never raced. It has 70,120 miles on it (mostly highway). It was never involved in any accident, not even minor ones. This vehicle's exterior shows very small wear and tear. As you can see on the pictures it's is very clean , the cloth interior has no rips & tears or cigarette burns. The sport seats are dark gray with light gray inserts which is a beautiful color combination. It has Power Windows, Power Locks, Power Mirrors, Heated Mirrors, Heated seats, Keyless entry and much more!
I have the photos of the car hosted on the internet at the following address:
http://usera.imagecave.com/2002jettabob/
Check them out, there are over 100 pics! you can really see this beauty from all angles. I hope you are serious in your intention for buying, don`t take it personally, but I had many problems with fake buyers in the past. So if you decide on buying the car, I want the deal closed only through eBay`s Safe Purchase program. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. After you receive the car and you inspect it, the money will be released to me, in this way we are both protected. Anyway, the car is available and I guess you could be its new owner if everything turns out all right and, again, you are serious about buying. I am located in Amsterdam,Netherlands. I moved here a few months ago, brought the car with me, but unfortunatelly I am not able to register it here, as it has US specs and emission stanards, non compliant with European regulations. My final price on it is 5.500$. If you will take this price, I am willing to pay for shipping and insurance to your location. Please get back to me A.S.A.P. if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction details from them.
(address and name taken out)
SO my questions to you are:
1) Anyone think this is kinda not safe, with him taking it over with him, but him probably knowing that it wouldnt pass emitions?
2) Anyone here bought or sold a car over eBay and there payment plan he said?
3)Scammer, or Not a Scammer?
4) He wrote alot, but he could of sent it too many others as well...is that kinda sketchy
Thanks for any advice
TL;DR (just cause i dont like it when vike doesnt have one :p ) Read the Email below, I am interested in buying car, and answer the questions at the bottom.
Hello,
and thank you for your interest in my car. The Jetta looks and runs exactly as new. It has a 1.8Turbo engine with an automatic transmission. Overall this car has been kept clean and is in good condition! The title is clean, and you will receive it along with the car, so you will have no problems whatsoever registering it there. The vin # is: (taken out just incase). This car has ALWAYS been ADULT driven. This is a ONE owner adult owned car, never raced. It has 70,120 miles on it (mostly highway). It was never involved in any accident, not even minor ones. This vehicle's exterior shows very small wear and tear. As you can see on the pictures it's is very clean , the cloth interior has no rips & tears or cigarette burns. The sport seats are dark gray with light gray inserts which is a beautiful color combination. It has Power Windows, Power Locks, Power Mirrors, Heated Mirrors, Heated seats, Keyless entry and much more!
I have the photos of the car hosted on the internet at the following address:
http://usera.imagecave.com/2002jettabob/
Check them out, there are over 100 pics! you can really see this beauty from all angles. I hope you are serious in your intention for buying, don`t take it personally, but I had many problems with fake buyers in the past. So if you decide on buying the car, I want the deal closed only through eBay`s Safe Purchase program. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. After you receive the car and you inspect it, the money will be released to me, in this way we are both protected. Anyway, the car is available and I guess you could be its new owner if everything turns out all right and, again, you are serious about buying. I am located in Amsterdam,Netherlands. I moved here a few months ago, brought the car with me, but unfortunatelly I am not able to register it here, as it has US specs and emission stanards, non compliant with European regulations. My final price on it is 5.500$. If you will take this price, I am willing to pay for shipping and insurance to your location. Please get back to me A.S.A.P. if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction details from them.
(address and name taken out)
SO my questions to you are:
1) Anyone think this is kinda not safe, with him taking it over with him, but him probably knowing that it wouldnt pass emitions?
2) Anyone here bought or sold a car over eBay and there payment plan he said?
3)Scammer, or Not a Scammer?
4) He wrote alot, but he could of sent it too many others as well...is that kinda sketchy
Thanks for any advice