PDA

View Full Version : Question about getting an HPA tank


xSoulsx
02-03-2007, 02:26 PM
If I get an HPA tank do I need to convert my gun (Spyder Electra '05 ACS all stock) to use the tank?

shunut
02-03-2007, 02:31 PM
Nope, its ready to go as is.

Hossy
02-03-2007, 03:25 PM
Nope, its ready to go as is.
:yeahthat:

later, if you want to go lp, by modding your gun a bit, you can do that, but that isnt nessessary

Backmanshooter
02-03-2007, 08:42 PM
Yes.

Just screw your tank into the ASA and play. Like said above, no modding is necessary unless you are going LP. Its optional so you wont have to worry.

xSoulsx
02-04-2007, 07:35 AM
K thanks

Backmanshooter
02-04-2007, 08:32 AM
No problem. Feel free to PM me if you need anything else answered.

Spr4YnPr4Y
02-05-2007, 06:48 PM
Not trying to steal the topic, but quick question.

Other than the fact that the fiber wrapped HPA tanks are lighter than the non-fiber wrapped ones. Are there any other advantages to spending almost $100 more than a steel/aluminum would cost a fiber wrapped one?

How big of a difference is weight anyways? What would a 4Xci / 4500 Steel tank's weight compare to a 4Xct / 4500 fiber wrapped tank be like.

Backmanshooter
02-05-2007, 07:05 PM
Not trying to steal the topic, but quick question.

Other than the fact that the fiber wrapped HPA tanks are lighter than the non-fiber wrapped ones. Are there any other advantages to spending almost $100 more than a steel/aluminum would cost a fiber wrapped one?

How big of a difference is weight anyways? What would a 4Xci / 4500 Steel tank's weight compare to a 4Xct / 4500 fiber wrapped tank be like.4500's dont come in steel..at least I dont think so. fiber wrapped is alot lighter than steel. Theres a noticeable difference.

More shots from 100+ tanks. ;)

Spr4YnPr4Y
02-05-2007, 07:27 PM
Oh! I diddnt notice that, thats true.

One more quick question, if you dont mind. Whats the average time (years) for a hydro test on a fiber wrapped tank?

Ive seen them go for like.. 2 years at most without needing hydro test.

While CO2 tanks last like 4+ years without hydro.

NEED for rehydro test I mean.

yod3r
02-05-2007, 07:47 PM
how much does a hydro cost and where do you send it or take it to?

xSoulsx
02-06-2007, 02:21 PM
Not trying to steal the topic, but quick question
.



Its ok

Backmanshooter
02-06-2007, 02:25 PM
Oh! I diddnt notice that, thats true.

One more quick question, if you dont mind. Whats the average time (years) for a hydro test on a fiber wrapped tank?

Ive seen them go for like.. 2 years at most without needing hydro test.

While CO2 tanks last like 4+ years without hydro.

NEED for rehydro test I mean.Some are 3 years and some are 5 years. Steelies are 5, I think and fiber wrapped are 3. I think, correct me if I'm wrong.

how much does a hydro cost and where do you send it or take it to?I think about 30ish dollars and you can take it to your field and see if they do it or a scuba place.

Halucin8
02-06-2007, 04:14 PM
there are 3 and 5 year fiber wrapped tanks(will say on the label or check the dot# on the label). steelies are 5 years. try hydrotest.com i believe. vwjimmy recommended taht place to someone for info on hydrotesting

Spr4YnPr4Y
02-06-2007, 07:48 PM
Oh alright, I got scared because from what ive seen the Hydrotest dates on most of my friends tanks are in about a year and a half or so.


Thanks again!

Backmanshooter
02-06-2007, 08:08 PM
I always try my best to help. :D

yod3r
02-07-2007, 01:39 PM
what do they do when they hydro test, is it just to make sure the tank is still working correctly

Oscum Guy
02-07-2007, 01:54 PM
yeah. they also apply overpressure to see if it explodes and stuff like that.

Spr4YnPr4Y
02-07-2007, 07:19 PM
The hydrotester's job must be pretty darn scary then.

ooglieboogliebob
02-07-2007, 07:45 PM
... Keep in mind they are professionals ... which mean they do have professional equipment. They're ready for what could happen ;).