PDA

View Full Version : Musicians: Theory Question

shunut
01-26-2007, 09:50 AM
I just started playing the guitar. I have had three lessons now and I'm having lots of fun. Part of my lessons is Theory. I'm working in a book from the Musicians Institute called Harmony & Theory by Keith Wyatt & Carl Schroeder. Right now I'm reading about Triads. I understand Major and Minor Traids but I'm having trouble with Augmented and Diminished Traids. I understand that Augmented Traid is a half step above a perfect fifth and Diminished Traid is a half step below a perfect fifth. What I'm not understanding is the structure of the chord. Here is an example:

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f395/shunut/Btriad.gif

B + (B Augmented)

Why do you need the sharp on D?

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f395/shunut/Ebdiminished.gif

E b * (Eb Diminished)

Why do you need the flat on G?

I know that it changes the sound of the chord but mathmatically speaking you don't need the extra sharp/flat. If you add up the number of half steps in each fifth you get the same number of flat steps with or without the extra sharp/flat. So can somebody explain to me why they are needed. Thanks.

durrell
01-26-2007, 10:36 AM
I'm no expert on the guitar side of music. But I did play sax for 3 years, and I would imagine the sharp and flat are there just to show the half step. Then again, I could be totally off..that's just a guess. lol.

druid
01-26-2007, 12:14 PM
For 20 years I have played the Bagpipes and I can't even help you...lol. I can't read music. I can read the notes just fine, it's the timing that eludes me. I never took music theory in school and I have had to learn my tunes 'by ear.' My Pipe Major would play the tune into my tape recorder so I had it for home and I would play the tape as I read the notes while I practiced. Sorry bud. Good luck.

maximus100389
01-26-2007, 12:27 PM
im confuesed...why do you have a B sharp chord...shouldnt it be the same thing as a C chord?

badlandsrox