PDA

View Full Version : Archery

Theheroguy
01-16-2007, 02:45 PM
After my leg heals I'm planning to get into archery. Everywhere I read that a recurve or compound bow is the best choice for I begginer. What some other stuff I should know and look for my dad and I don't sound like total noobs when we go to the store.

Hob Hayward
01-16-2007, 02:56 PM
I have a pretty nice recurve that I don't use often enough. I'd sugest a recurve bow over a compound, though if you want a compound they are kinda cool, more expensive though. One suggestion is don't buy CF or fiberglass arrows, they can split unexpectantly, and potentially you could end up wiith a half a fiberglass arrow going into your forearm, not fun. Get aluminium arrows.

I need a good place to shoot other than my yard, because arrows get lost and its not fun looking for them, especially when they're each $10 custom arrows.

kidonfire
01-16-2007, 05:51 PM
When I did archery I used a recurve. If I remember right the compoud bow is made for hunting. I can be used for archery, but I think it was made for hunting. There is a system that at the end of the "pull" the tension lightens so you can hold it for a longer time. I would suggest getting a recurve. If you eventually decide to hunt you'll probably want a compound bow.

bigred76
01-16-2007, 06:16 PM
I prefer a compound bow to a recurve because of what KidOnFire described. It's great to be able to hold back a 100lb bow like it was a 15lb. :D A recruve is way cheaper than a compound, and is better if you're on a budget. I personally use my compound for both hunting and on ranges, but it's killer on hay bales and arrows.... Puts arrows down to the notch most times. :-/

FredPo
01-16-2007, 10:40 PM