PDA

View Full Version : Out of the box problem

SteinOnkel
12-26-2006, 09:26 PM
Hello,

I got my spyder imagine for christmas yesterday, and as soon as the battery had finished charging, I put it in and hooked up the tank (which had give or take 1800psi left in it). As soon as I touched the trigger the gun started shooting hyperfast (beyond it's full-auto capabilities). Shocked, I had no choice but to unscrew the tank to make it stop. It does this on every firing mode. What could it be?

Do I need a regulator?
Do I need to turn down the velocity?

Now, I'm new to paintball (have only played 3 times) and this is my first gun. A regulator is what regulates air-flow into the gun, right? Adjusting the velocity changes the fps, not the r.o.f, right?

Could there be something terribly wrong with the gun, or is it just and adjustment error? I took it out of the box and did what I described above, I did not change any settings.

And, yes, it it did cock (but at a much too high r.o.f.) so I'm pretty sure it's not a cocking problem.

Any help would be great!

Thanks,
SteinOnkel

druid
12-27-2006, 02:37 AM
It's called "burping" and it's likely because you need to oil all the orings, especially the striker oring. After that, make sure your tank's not near empty.

clickclicksplat
12-27-2006, 12:45 PM
Check here (http://www.ottersccustoms.com/trouble.html#burping)

SteinOnkel
12-27-2006, 10:48 PM
And so the mystery deepens. When there's a ball in it, it shoots fine? Is this normal?

druid
12-27-2006, 11:28 PM
yes, because there's "back-pressure" that's helping the recocking process. Take your front grip off the marker. There should be a screen in VA (above the hose). Remove it (it won't really hurt anything). Also...you are using HPA correct? I ask because CO2 seems to give a higher pressure as it expands than HPA. It's also more dense than HPA. If using HPA, removing the screen won't hurt it at all and should fix your problem. If not: