PDA

View Full Version : so my comp is the super suck


claustrophobia9
11-13-2006, 06:15 PM
basically i cant get it to stop sucking.

recently (like a month) its really sucked. ive:

-deleted useless programs
-cleaned up dlls
-defraged the hard drive
-reinstalled items (repair) (after defrag to aid the speed)
-deleted tons of files
-run all sorts of anti virus and spyware and got nothing.
-allotted nearly tripple normal RAM to be taken from my free hard drive space.

cpu isnt reaching above 10% (unless said activities below)
and my "rambooster" program isnt reading anything under 50% or it finds more space


it gets particularly slow doing normal things:
right clicking things
dragging things
opening items
running programs (other than firefox and aim)

any suggestions?

marvin-martian
11-13-2006, 06:16 PM
buy a new one nub
*edit* and stop looking at porn

bigred76
11-13-2006, 06:28 PM
Claus, the computer wiz... asking for comp help? Anyone else see something odd with this picture? :confused:

Muddytaco
11-13-2006, 07:04 PM
Your in the same boat as me, i can't get mine to speed up at all. Alot of programs that ran fine before keep crashing now. I have no idea what it could be, i have run test for spyware and viruses and came up with nothing. This one is about to get booted to the curb.

DyNasty9
11-13-2006, 07:52 PM
buy a new intel...........Mac:thumbup:


claus with mac>:computer: clause with old pc>:smashpc:

:D

Nader
11-13-2006, 11:06 PM
buy a new intel...........Mac:thumbup:


claus with mac>:computer: clause with old pc>:smashpc:

:D
Der!
Took teh wordz right outta my mouf.

Get a MacBook Pro. You'll be happy for at least your whole lifetime.


And pron is bad for your comp. :p

EDIT: You could try initializing your HD and re-installing Windows and such. But if your CPU is bad that ain't gonna fix nothing.

DFSniper
11-14-2006, 01:04 AM
do either of you have Tune-up Utilities?

claustrophobia9
11-14-2006, 03:28 AM
Your in the same boat as me, i can't get mine to speed up at all. Alot of programs that ran fine before keep crashing now. I have no idea what it could be, i have run test for spyware and viruses and came up with nothing. This one is about to get booted to the curb.
probibly the system update :rolleyes:

macs are nice and all, but i really dont want one. plan and simple.

i have xp optimizer but it was like "derka nothing wrong"
i have an old dll killer but its for 95 so i dont want to use it.

bracer028
11-14-2006, 07:12 AM
just reformat.

vwjimmy
11-14-2006, 09:34 AM
Yep....its Wipeout time.....
Reinstall OS and off you go!

durrell
11-14-2006, 10:32 AM
Reformatting is the best thing for your computer probably. Save whatever docs, music, and pictures you have that are irreplaceable and go ahead and wipe it.

colonel_moo
11-14-2006, 11:23 AM
Yep....its Wipeout time.....
Reinstall OS and off you go!
reinstalling the OS probably wont do anything. just reformat.

claustrophobia9
11-14-2006, 11:45 AM
if you reformat doesnt it wipeout the OS? plus i dont have the disk to reinstall it...

vwjimmy
11-14-2006, 11:50 AM
reinstalling the OS probably wont do anything. just reformat.
By 'Wipeout' I meant to 'wipe' or 'reformat' the drive and THEN reinstall the OS.....

bamf-hacker
11-14-2006, 12:28 PM
rule one of PC installs.

Make 3 partitions at install time.

Partition 1- OS
Partition 2- Data
Partition 3- Sensitive data

That way if you need to reinstall the OS you can do so without losing anything other than some time.

claustrophobia9
11-14-2006, 03:50 PM
rule one of PC installs.

Make 3 partitions at install time.

Partition 1- OS
Partition 2- Data
Partition 3- Sensitive data

That way if you need to reinstall the OS you can do so without losing anything other than some time.
ok uh... tutorial maybe?

emf7301
11-14-2006, 04:58 PM
well first of all, what are your computer specs? As other people have said, reformatting your hard drive and putting in a fresh install of windows is your best bet.

claustrophobia9
11-14-2006, 05:22 PM
is like 4 years old max.

1.5ghz pent4
256mb RAM
40gb hard drive

its good for what i do, which isnt much, but recently its just been severely bogged down.

emf7301
11-14-2006, 09:10 PM
A cheap easy upgrade is to just increase your RAM. Doubling your RAM to 512 should be enough for the time being. That'll provide a temporary fix until your ready to get a new comp. Since you don't have the OS cd's, your stuck with your situation unless you buy a new set. When vista arrives, you might think about getting a new comp since i can't really see your computer being able to run it efficiently if you wanted to upgrade.

durrell
11-15-2006, 03:15 AM
:yeahthat: But I would try to find an install CD of XP and reformat if you aren't planning to get a new one anytime soon..

colonel_moo
11-15-2006, 08:24 AM
yeah, just find an XP CD and reformat. it doesnt matter where you get it, if you got your computer from a major company, the CD key should be on a sticker somewhere on the case. plus, you shouldnt even really need to CD key unless you register with microsoft.

DFSniper
11-15-2006, 12:34 PM
but you HAVE to register within 30 days or you'll have to install it again...unless you have XP Pro :grin:

A cheap easy upgrade is to just increase your RAM. Doubling your RAM to 512 should be enough for the time being. That'll provide a temporary fix until your ready to get a new comp.
itll help a little, but the best way to increase the performance is to get a new processor (but you gotta have the $$)

claustrophobia9
11-15-2006, 02:14 PM
microsoft is crippling all nonregistered OS'es and cracking down on piracy soon.

Hob Hayward
11-15-2006, 02:53 PM
Microsft ftl.

Either reformat or buy one of those cheap dells, your comp is prettymuch useless for most stuff right now.

If all you do is web browse and stuff, may I suggest Ubuntu Linux. Faster than windows. No spyware or viruses, and its freeeee. Plus its easy to install and run.

newkid
11-15-2006, 04:27 PM
wow that sucks, get a new one

claustrophobia9
11-15-2006, 05:29 PM
Microsft ftl.

Either reformat or buy one of those cheap dells, your comp is prettymuch useless for most stuff right now.

If all you do is web browse and stuff, may I suggest Ubuntu Linux. Faster than windows. No spyware or viruses, and its freeeee. Plus its easy to install and run.
yes Microsoft ftl.... they are such jerks for adding a part in the code that stops you from stealing 80 dollars plus all in one download. oh and ftl too if you'd suggest that being the most used OS as deserving a loss. the whole hating microsoft thing is retarded. you see problems in microsoft's products? fix them. and sell the fix. jesus people learn economics and quit whining.

i cant buy a dell cuz my dad worked for hp for 15 years and is a stone cold suporter. and i dont get my new computer until college (im a junior).

not ALL i do is webbrowse. i use dreamweaver, ps cs2, flash 8, and lots of modeling but recently i havent been able to... nor have i had any ideas since ive been sketching up stuff for halloween preperations (yes next year)

i need to fix THIS, and i cant find ram since the chips i have are some wierd number of pins. i will be getting a new hard drive soon i think.

08Lud08
11-15-2006, 05:32 PM
Yeah my laptop does the same thing, it takes about 20 min to start up and 30 minutes just to get the internet explorer started and you cant run any programs without it taking like 2 hours to start.

pb34
11-15-2006, 05:50 PM
Yeah my laptop does the same thing, it takes about 20 min to start up and 30 minutes just to get the internet explorer started and you cant run any programs without it taking like 2 hours to start.

Thats the exact problem I had with mine. Your hard drive is probably damaged. I got mine replaced and the computer is back up to speed.

DFSniper
11-16-2006, 01:28 AM
microsoft is crippling all nonregistered OS'es and cracking down on piracy soon.
are you sure its non-registered? i know the site says that it checks for authenticity when you try dl'ing WMP10 and stuff but it still works everytime my friend or i tried.

because it's the professional version, you can use it on as many computers as you want, as long as its for education, and teaching yourself to build pcs is pretty educational IMO

claustrophobia9
11-16-2006, 02:28 AM
uh... well i dont have the disk guys. my dad said it didnt come with one.

emf7301
11-16-2006, 08:26 AM
Claus, try this link to help find memory for you computer. http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/shopping/can.do?landing=desktop&storeName=accessories&category=desktop_hp&subcat1=memory&catLevel=1
On that page, there is a button that says find memory. Use that to find the exact type you need.

claustrophobia9
11-16-2006, 12:10 PM
everything i buy now comes out of my next computer's cost. i am not buying memory.

DFSniper
11-16-2006, 12:30 PM
whats your next one gonna be? i'd suggest the AMD 3800+ cpu from newegg if it was possible, but you have an intel cpu in your current one, so it wont work. if you do decide to stick with intels, upgrade your processor now (3.06ghz!!) and put that in your new computer later

claustrophobia9
11-16-2006, 12:47 PM
i want a quad core when it comes out, if i bought a cpu now it would be core 2 extreme... but im like 90% sure it needs a mobo with the right socket type. what is retarded... my dad is letting me build a media center pc (oand possibly another to connect to it) to go in my basement and record shows then transmit it over the network so we can watch dvr stuff everywhere... and i get to make a halfway decent computer... thats not even gonna be multi tasking (besides intake and output of video)

Hob Hayward
11-16-2006, 01:00 PM
The core 2 duo is very good for the price. I'm a firm supporter of AMD, but the c2d is just so good for what you pay. The extreme is a waste of money.

Windows is annoying when it comes to memory usage, Xp has so many useles backround programs that suck up your memory. This comp that I'm on now is pretty crappy. 1ghz p3 based celeron, 392(?)mb ram, nvidia ti4200+ 128 mb. Yet, despite that the desktop environment is at least twice as fast as my primary gaming comp(running xp). Which is muchhhhhh better than this thing.

And yeah, prettymuch every series of cpu's uses a specific socket type. Media center is pretty sweet, especially when used like that. We had one of dad's PC's hooked up to our TV for a while, it was pretty sweet. Especially considering that he had a ton of movies on it aswell.

What you should do is look around at your PC, assuming it came fro ma major company it will have a sticker on it wit ha product key. Get a friends install disc for XP, and use that to reformat your HD and then reinstall windows. Prettymuch thats the only way to go to speed up your comp. If you wantto save files etc. you could get a cheap portable HD if you have a lot of files, or you could just burn the stuff to cd's or a flashdrive or two.