PDA

View Full Version : POS flash drive


claustrophobia9
09-11-2006, 04:50 PM
my flash drive acting all retarded on my home computer. its a sandisk u3 cruzer and i know it works because it works on every other computer excpet mine. it used to not open the u3 launchpad, then it wouldnt acknowlege the u3 "emulated drive" and now it wont even let me open a folder for just basic usb data saves


anyone have any ideas?

phatphil
09-13-2006, 11:23 AM
K.

claustrophobia9
09-13-2006, 11:59 AM
thanks taylor.

leed
09-16-2006, 04:34 AM
Maybe you need a new computer....?

claustrophobia9
09-16-2006, 05:46 AM
expensive fix for a cheap problem...

timmyshoota
09-16-2006, 01:56 PM
Thats the retractable ones right? I have one and use it every other day. No problems so far. I never use the U3 stuff. I dunno if it matters, but I use a Mac.

claustrophobia9
09-17-2006, 01:49 PM
Thats the retractable ones right? I have one and use it every other day. No problems so far. I never use the U3 stuff. I dunno if it matters, but I use a Mac.
does the u3 thing pop up for you?

i use it for open office and firefox(at school)

its just that when i put it in here at my house it trys to run the u3 program but it doesnt work and it gets all confused when i unplugg it and doesnt recognize it again until i restart.

Ace24
09-17-2006, 01:53 PM
Is it possible that your running a high speed USB device in a non highspeed port? Sometimes that will cause problems. It could also be that your usb port your putting it into is screwed up. Have you tried other things in that port or is it only the drive that wont work in the port?

timmyshoota
09-17-2006, 02:12 PM
When I plug in the flash drive the flash drive and the U3 software pop onto the desktop. I just open up the flash drive and copy the files I need onto the desktop, save anything I need to on it and then take it out.

Ace - I've got a feeling his computer is more than capable of running a high speed USB device, he lives next to P Diddy. :dodgy:

Ace24
09-17-2006, 02:24 PM
lol

I didnt say it wasnt capable of doing that, its just there are high speed ports an regular ones.. Lots of computers have both.

claustrophobia9
09-17-2006, 04:33 PM
ya, all the external ports are non highspeed apperently cuz i ALWAYS get that notice, no matter where i plug it in. but it gives me the same thing at school and it runs fine there.

Ace24
09-17-2006, 08:11 PM
Well it could be a different brand of USB port. What kind of computer is it? Also is it a different brand computer in school? If so, different brands use different hardware and it might be giving you trouble. Also, have you tried it in all your USB ports? Could it be that the port is fried?