PDA

View Full Version : Sypder Imagine 04 - Air Pressure


NoSkillzAZ
01-08-2006, 12:28 PM
Howdy folks, so I'm a noob, and just placed an order for a Spyder Imagine 04... price seemed good to me, and everything I have been reading says its a pretty fair mid range marker for the price.

My question here... it states it has a Low Pressure chamber, in addition to an expansion chamber.... So I purchased a PMI Pure Energy Fixed N2 Tank - 72ci 3000psi, that looks like it outputs 850psi. What is the output I should actually be using? I ended up ordering a PMI Pure Energy In-Line Regulator, with an output adjustable from 200 to 800 psi. I'm just not sure what the best way to go is here.

Anyone feel like helping out the noob, so he can give you another target out there?

Thanks,

druid
01-08-2006, 02:58 PM
CLICK ME for Our Bible (http://www.ottersccustoms.com)

In addition to the marker, get a chronograph. I use THIS ONE CLICK ME (http://www.shootingchrony.com/index.htm) but the standard you see on the field is THIS ONE CLICK ME (http://www.actionvillage.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/DisplayProductInformation-Start;sid=fEIR3JJVMLoRdNGU25fRdJjzg6-IDxPkf5c=?ProductID=eWysFAY7CzYAAAD3kXilA_2y)

your psi determines your fps. Take 3 shots over the chrony and up/lower your fps to between 270 and 280.

DRAGON
01-08-2006, 03:44 PM
PE products certainly arent the best but it won't be as bad as installing a Kingman reg anyways. The output pressure of the reg was the correct choice. The HP tank was the correct choice as well. You will need a new 1/8" npt stainless line, metric adapter and possibly a 1/8" npt 90* elbow for the reg -

NoSkillzAZ
01-08-2006, 04:18 PM
Do I still need the new line, if I'm going to use a remote?

nitrobassboats
01-08-2006, 05:02 PM
hi guys
D:p ruid he wont be able to get down to those pressures without mods
stock parts just wont do it,as for his setup looks good to me without going
lp. If youd like to go LP please follow otters guide ,helped me tremondously
my imagine 04 runs at between 275 and 300 psi ,only prob ive had is with FPS and i mean not getting below 270s
heres the setup:
Imagine 04
ACS delrin bolt
New Designz Hi performance valve
Check it 45 degree assault block
Bob Long Torpedo regulator
Otter striker(polished)
32 Degrees spring kit
New designsz Pro feedneck
BTI Apex barrel
NitroCLICK ME for Our Bible (http://www.ottersccustoms.com)

In addition to the marker, get a chronograph. I use THIS ONE CLICK ME (http://www.shootingchrony.com/index.htm) but the standard you see on the field is THIS ONE CLICK ME (http://www.actionvillage.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/DisplayProductInformation-Start;sid=fEIR3JJVMLoRdNGU25fRdJjzg6-IDxPkf5c=?ProductID=eWysFAY7CzYAAAD3kXilA_2y)

your psi determines your fps. Take 3 shots over the chrony and up/lower your fps to between 270 and 280.

NoSkillzAZ
01-08-2006, 06:46 PM
So basically what i'm gathering, is to use the HPA at 850 PSI and adjust, and to get the LP going, I'll have to get a new bolt and everything else... so the regulator I ordered is pretty much useless at this point?

thechubbss12
01-09-2006, 03:51 AM
No not useless... Instead of doing what eveyother noob spyder guy is doing about Chronoing (turning spring preasure up or down) you will have the ability to adjust it using the reg to determin the air preasure that flows into you gun instead of adjusting spring preasure.

NoSkillzAZ
01-09-2006, 06:16 AM
Thanks guys, hopefully I can get all this figured out.

bigred76
01-09-2006, 10:31 AM
Do I still need the new line, if I'm going to use a remote?
You can take the quick diconnet male nipple and put it in the place of the fitting on your regulator and lose the bottomline ASA altogether. I personally don't like how it makes the gun weigh, but it's all up to your preferences.

To get a Low Pressure set-up, you will need a high-flowing Vertical Adapter (V/A) and some modifications done to your internals. That should get your marker down into the mid- to low-pressure range by itself. If you feel the need to use lower pressure still, then you can upgrade your internals. All the modifications you cn do to your marker are covered on OtterSC's site, and they have a review to go along with them. ;)

crazyImaginetion
01-18-2006, 03:05 PM
Wasup everyone, I'm nwew to the paintball realm. I have the newest spyder imagine and I'm very interested in this discusion about it. I would like to know exactly what i need to make it work with HPA since it seems to be better than using CO2. What parts would I have to buy to use for example a 72ci-3000psi tank? I not familiar with some of the parts mentioned above such as the 1/8" ntp thing. I am not interested in changing to LP but I would just like to know what's needed for HPA on the new spyder imagine. Thanks in advance.

ad0131065
01-18-2006, 04:44 PM
All you need to do is screw the tank into your gun

bigred76
01-18-2006, 05:11 PM
:yeahthat: HPA tanks that are High Pressure output let out a consistent 800psi. CO2 tanks are 850psi. So, you're gonna screw the tank in, and go to the field to chronograph. You'll need to turn up the velocity some because of the lower input pressure, but other than that you shouldn't have any problems. ;)

crazyImaginetion
01-18-2006, 05:22 PM
So the PMI Pure Energy Fixed N2 Tank - 72ci 3000psi would work without any more needed parts such as a regulator correct?

bigred76
01-18-2006, 05:41 PM
Correct. A regulator will make it more consistent and more efficient, but for now an HPA tank can just screw into your gun in the place of a CO2 tank.

crazyImaginetion
01-18-2006, 05:51 PM
Thanks everyone!

DRAGON
01-18-2006, 10:23 PM
So the PMI Pure Energy Fixed N2 Tank - 72ci 3000psi would work without any more needed parts such as a regulator correct?

The tank already has a reg -