PDA

View Full Version : Open or closed bolt?

JimJr
08-17-2006, 11:12 AM
Hi all, noob here to paintball and these forums, but I've learned much from searching these forums already. I have a refurbished Spyder Imagine and I need to know if my marker is an open or closed bolt design? My research says it is a closed bolt but I would like confirmation.

In addition, what makes a marker open/closed and are there any pros/cons to each?

Thanks, and I'm asking because my Odyssey Halo Backman LCD TSA loader that has a shot counter but you have to specify if you have open/closed bolt for the shot counter to be accurate.

vwjimmy
08-17-2006, 11:17 AM
All Spyder /Spyder clone markers are "Open Bolt"
Many people say that closed bolt designs are more accurate but.....
both designs have there own merits....
Open bolt= Bolt in rear position when marker is ready to fire
Closed Bolt= Bolt in forward position when ready to fire
Closed bolt markers are electro-pneumatic....
Spyders are "blowback"
Welcome to the Forums....

stylinbeaver
08-17-2006, 11:32 AM
EDIT::::: Edited becasue I posted the wrong answer!! Sorry

vwjimmy
08-17-2006, 11:36 AM
You can see the bolt on any Autococker......its "closed bolt"
again, "Closed Bolt=bolt in FORWARD position when ready to fire"

Santy
08-17-2006, 11:38 AM
Ions are not closed bolt, they are open bolt, you just can;t see the bolt. They are open, "enclosed" bolt. Same thing with shockers, 03 and up, DM's and PM's.

Auto-cockers and old school shoebox shockers are closed bolt. Almost everything else is open bolt.

JimJr
08-17-2006, 11:51 AM
Thanks, that's what I needed to know. I read ottersccustoms.com and it said Sypder are open, should have known he was right.

OtterSC
08-17-2006, 12:17 PM
http://www.ottersccustoms.com/images/face/icon_lol.gif

that is a good one! the rodent was right!

thechubbss12
08-17-2006, 12:24 PM
elaborate otter?.... rodent = beava?....

yea all other info mentioned

calebh
08-17-2006, 12:50 PM