PDA

View Full Version : Red Dots That Can Fit On The Mr1:


nojoka
06-16-2006, 09:01 AM
RED DOTS THAT CAN FIT ON THE MR1:

I bought a $15 Barska 25mm red dot from Sportsmansguide.com
http://sv1.letmehost.com/sv1/19/thumbs/30mm_mr1.jpg (http://sv1.letmehost.com/sv1/19/30mm_mr1.jpg)
http://www.sportsmansguide.com/cb/cb.asp?a=226282

then I bought some 30mm high weaver rings from ebay beacuse the rings that came were to low and got in the way of the top cocking bolt. you mount both rings on one end of the tube and it will fit! Total cost was under $30 including shipping.

I also got this red dot:
http://sv1.letmehost.com/sv1/19/thumbs/1__mr1.jpg (http://sv1.letmehost.com/sv1/19/1__mr1.jpg)
http://cdnn.powerfulhosting.com/prod.itml/icOid/5328 it's smaller (1" tube and 20mm optics and the included rings work to mount it. It can almost be mounted normally, (rings on both ends) but when the top cocking bolt comes forward it just hits the ring, it could probably be filed down. Cost was a little under $30 with shipping.

The Barska red dot has more illumination settings goes from 0-11 instead of 0-7. It is brighter at its max setting. With the higher mounts I could just see the dot while wearing my mask and using the stock. The smaller red dot is too low to be used with the mr1's stock with mask on.

One other red dot that looks interesting is this one by ncstar http://1shotscopes.com/osCommerce/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=82
It's only 1.8" long so it would mount with no problem, but it would be very low so you would probably have to use a different stock or just take it off or maybe cut it down. Plus it's $90.

One last thing I haven't played with a red dot on in a game yet but I just practiced shooting some trees in my mom's backyard. I got the Barska red dot first and after I dialed it in I was hitting a fist sized spot on a tree over and over at 75 feet. farther away and sometimes the ball would curve a little . I am using the barrel it came with though. The 2nd red dot I got a week later and I had a hard time getting it dialed in, it seemed like there wasn't enough adjustments because the paintball kept hitting below the dot. I am thinking my CO2 was getting low so I'm gonna test it again today.

oldnewb
06-16-2006, 10:10 AM
Thanks for the post. I have heard that the MR1 has some difficulties with mounting sights due to the short rails.

One thought I had was that the weaver rings you posted look like it could allow you could mount the sight further back, OVER the cocking bolt. They have enough height and clearance, from what I can see, so that you could attach the rings in front of and behind the bolt.

Of course, I don't have my MR1 in front of me right now... I just vaguely remember the weaver grooves continuing through the bolt area and behind it as well... I could be wrong.

TheRogueGnome
06-16-2006, 10:27 AM
question:: does the MR1 have a 3/8 rail? iw as looking at this scope
http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/sights/izon/index.shtml
or this one
http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/117/

any responses on these?:cool:

yamaha cow
06-16-2006, 02:12 PM
the MR1 has a 7/8 inch dovetail those won't work

nojoka
06-16-2006, 09:00 PM
Can't really mount it over the bolt because u need that groove in the weaver mounting base. In front of the feed neck there is just enough room to mount a ring but you would have to cut a groove.

oldnewb
06-17-2006, 09:49 AM
Can't really mount it over the bolt because u need that groove in the weaver mounting base. In front of the feed neck there is just enough room to mount a ring but you would have to cut a groove.

Oh well, that sucks. I would prefer the look of having the sight closer to the back of the marker, but oh well.

I'm hoping to see that carry-handle / sight rail for the MR3 come out as an aftermarket item. That should allow us MR1 owners to mount sights with plenty of clearance for sighting in, even with masks on.

Thanks for showing us the psights nojoka. Let us know how well they work.

Ghost Bear Reborn
06-19-2006, 05:34 AM
Hey, Nojoka, thanks for showing how to use the rings to mount a scope. I'm gonna try that to mount a "helmet cam" on my MR1 so I can make videos of my games.

Hob Hayward
06-19-2006, 09:53 AM
Hmm I have an NCstar 30mm red dot that cost me 40$, when I get the chance I'll see how it fits on my friends MR1.

lilc
06-23-2006, 08:20 AM
Can't really mount it over the bolt because u need that groove in the weaver mounting base. In front of the feed neck there is just enough room to mount a ring but you would have to cut a groove.
http://www.bp-usa.com/images/JCS-73251-on-MR1-MR2-Spyder.jpg
http://www.bp-usa.com/accessories.htm

oldnewb
06-26-2006, 11:10 AM
http://www.bp-usa.com/images/JCS-73251-on-MR1-MR2-Spyder.jpg
http://www.bp-usa.com/accessories.htm

Ooh... VERY cool... anyone own one of these?

velocity
07-12-2006, 04:19 PM
I have the 3" version of this sight rail and it works great. It offsets the red dot scope about an 1 to 1.5 inches also allowing for better sight placement.

I mounted the BSA 42mm red dot on it and it does not interfere with my hopper

http://files.upl.silentwhisper.net/upload2/Spyder_MR1_Sight_Rail.jpg

Guitar_kid99
07-12-2006, 06:44 PM
anyone try taking the raised sight rail of an mr2 and putting it on an mr1

TheRogueGnome
07-13-2006, 04:59 AM
can we have a pic of the side view of that?

velocity
07-14-2006, 04:17 AM
Here is a side view

http://files.upl.silentwhisper.net/upload2/Spyder_MR1.jpg

TheRogueGnome
07-14-2006, 04:39 AM
thanks bro..yea man i like the look still. i thought it would look beat off to the side..but i like it.

mochodurazo
09-29-2006, 09:38 AM
hey daoes anyone know if this rail fit properly the mr1?:

"3" long x 7/8" wide Accessory Rail
clamps on center to any 3/8 Dovetail
This versatile rail is 3 inches long and is machined from solid aluminum, then black anodized. Professional design let you clamp to any standard 3/8 dovetail. We call our rails the "JCS 7/8 Modified-MIL-SPEC-1913 Accessory Mount". It accepts any quality accessory that requires a "Weaver", "Picatinny", or "7/8" mount. Securely installs with a Phillips medium (#1 size) screw driver to provide a rigid accessory mount."

i need in center cause im left handed.... any help from you?

Nuwisha
10-22-2006, 02:30 AM
I just modified my friends MR1 to take an m16 stlye carry handle....Probably won't work for most people, but he modified his MR1 to take a rear cocking bolt. Lots of work to do this mod and its non-reversable as I had to sand off the rear sights on the marker to make the carry handle fit. Lots of work, but it can be done.

I'll post a pic when i get one.

Nuwisha
10-26-2006, 06:23 PM
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-10/1221131/DSC00006.JPG

Ace24
10-29-2006, 08:25 AM
Now that is a sick MR1. The q-loader was what I was going to do to my gun. What attatchment did you have to buy to fit it on the magazine style grip? Also, with that M16 sight rail, couldnt you just mill a slot on the indise of it so that the bolt pin could move freely?

Nuwisha
10-29-2006, 12:15 PM
For the Qloader mount, its just the largest ring that came with it, forced to the shape of the grip.....again a bit of work, but worth it.

Yes you could mill out a hole for the top pin, but it wouldn't work, the carry handle would have to be moved too far back and the screw for the rail mount would interfere as well.

Hob Hayward
10-29-2006, 12:41 PM
If you wanted to you could probably do an internalized side cocking system.

Ace24
10-29-2006, 05:13 PM
Hmmm... Wow I cant wait to start on my MR1 project. Seeing these incredible MR1's are making me excited.

MilSim-117
12-11-2006, 04:23 PM
That MR1 is really cool. I'd love to do that but not for a while.

MilSim-117
12-17-2006, 04:36 PM
the MR1 has a 7/8 inch dovetail those won't work
Then would this fit?

http://www.octanegear.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=2082

velocity
12-22-2006, 11:05 PM
Yes it will. It use the same one on my MR1. Just make sure you lock tite the threads on the mounting screws

rouge1
03-26-2007, 01:25 PM
I bought a scope, a red dot sight and a 7/8 scope mount, then I made an adapter for the sight.