PDA

View Full Version : Noid Problems


TomFromMyspace
05-09-2006, 05:05 PM
My problem originated last time I played.
I was playing, and I thought my battery was dying, I had a great shot on someone, and it wouldnt shoot, so I decided to swap batteries between games, and that didnt solve it. After I took of my grips, and looking at the board, I saw nothing wrong, after fidgeting with the connection between the noid and the board *orange and yellow wires* I was able to get it to shoot, however I would get off a couple shots and it would be back to not shooting. I took it apart today to have a better look at it, and tried again, hoping it was just being finiky, but it wasnt, and it didnt work. I still had some intermittent spurts of firing, but I want my gun to actually work. I took out the noid and ran it straight from the battery, and it worked fine, so I knew that wasn't the problem. I connected the wires straight to it, and it still doesnt work. I'm wondering if anyone has had these problems, and if they have any advice other than biting the bullet and getting a new board/frame.

druid
05-09-2006, 08:15 PM
look at the capacitor. if it's bulged or leaking, it's shot. replace it with one from radio shack

TomFromMyspace
05-10-2006, 10:49 AM
I checked that, and no visible damage anywhere, but that does make sense, being what it does, and the symptoms my gun was having, so it still could be the problem. any other suggestions are appreciated, even if they are about a good replacement frame that won't blow my budget.

big_daddy_d
05-10-2006, 11:11 AM
looking for a used frame? Check out my BST thread have an IPI 3.0 board in there along with a chrome frame for sale...

ooglieboogliebob
05-10-2006, 03:12 PM
... rather you should just replace the capacitor ... thats ususally the problem in most cases..

BTW are you using rechargable 9.6v batteries ?? ... if not thats your problem ...

TomFromMyspace
05-10-2006, 03:17 PM
bob, you and druid were right, after I posted that last one, before I went out of the house for like 4 hours, I unscrewed the board and saw an abrasion in the wire leading to the capacitor it was hiding on the underside and I hadn't seen it before. Next time I have time, I'll run by radioshack with the capacitor and that should fix my problem, thanks for the help, and I'll let you guys know what happens when I change the capacitor.

joe06
05-11-2006, 03:54 PM
well glad you solved ur problem. i had the same firing problem but it turned out to be that my frame was loose. put o-rings under the screws to absorb shock and it works fine.but if its the capacitator then orings wont help.......just get a new one and swap em out.

TomFromMyspace
05-17-2006, 11:25 AM
Turns out I still have a problem, I will hook up the capacitor, and see if that was my problem, however my new problem is that, I could not find a capacitor that is the same as my stock one, and after looking forever, and being anxious to find the right one, I ordered the first 6800 uh / 16v capacitor I found, without double checking the length. When it got here, I knew something was wrong, it was 40mm instead of the 31 mm of the stock capacitor. And for anyone who has seen the internals of this gun, there is no room in the trigger for 10 extra millimeters. If Anyone in the world knows where I can find a 31 mm capacitor that is identical to the stock one, PLEASE help me, otherwise I may wind up cutting a hole in my stickies.

bamf-hacker
05-17-2006, 02:31 PM
you can try here: Doro Paintball (http://www.doropaintball.com/Index.asp). They have tons of stock Spyder parts.

HacKeR

TomFromMyspace
05-17-2006, 03:05 PM
OOO I like that site, but it didn't have the capacitor. I think I'm just gonna email kingman, see if they'll tell me where they get theirs.

ooglieboogliebob
05-17-2006, 05:03 PM
well you could go for something smaller like ... 4500UF 32V ... seemed to work fine for me ... match them up, see what fits the best, but is closest to the original

TomFromMyspace
05-18-2006, 11:53 AM
alrighty, my radio shack kinda sucks. The guy working there had an IQ of about 71, and keeps refering me to a business furniture store. Not to mention they dont have a capacitor above 1000 uF. I should be able to find one however. Thanks again for the help bob.

ooglieboogliebob
05-18-2006, 03:40 PM
np always here to help