PDA

View Full Version : quick question


Paradox313
04-30-2006, 02:59 PM
i was watching inside paintball
and they said not to put c02 in a hpa tank or put hpa in a c02 tank

I was thinking of buying a adapter for my dads air compressor so i can put compressed air into my c02 tank

is this bad and should i buy one of these for my stock 05 ACS
http://www.actionvillage.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/Store/en/-/USD/DisplayProductInformation-Start;sid=ZK-gQCwERYGgtWhRWYZg6CbNbIJlia21Z3o=?ProductID=owasFA Y7h%2esAAAD3sGOlA_2t

ps and yes i do know about the velocity spikes but not so much

vikingshadow
04-30-2006, 03:10 PM
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You should not put compressed air in a Co2 tank. Period. Stop, put the internet down, get an ice pack and go lie down. :cool:

Co2 tanks were only designed for about 1500 MAX spiked pressure of Co2 liquid and gas, and that's only for a little bit. IF it were even possible to get an adapter for your dad's compresser, and you were actually able to fill to 1000 psi in that Co2 tank, you wouldn't get many shots anyways from it anyway. That is, IF the burst disc doesn't blow and you don't end up killing someone with it.

If you're desperate for compressed air, you should buy that tank or any other HPA tank, but for Christ's sake, don't fill your Co2 with CA!!!!!

Paradox313
04-30-2006, 03:20 PM
thats why i asked first
so
using an adapter for the air compressor can allow me to use a HPA tank for my marker right

vikingshadow
04-30-2006, 03:35 PM
Nope. HPA tanks fill to a pressure of 3000, 4500 and 5000 psi. There's no home compressor, even with an adapter, that can fill to those pressures. You have to get a scuba tank compressor, or a compressor like the fire stations have, or even a paintball compressor for those kind of fills.

Got about 1500.00-5000.00 in your pocket? Because that's what they run! If so, wanna be friends? LOL! :D

druid
04-30-2006, 03:40 PM
this is why......

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v388/druidsdecendant/Paintball/burstbottleJPEG.jpg

Hob Hayward
04-30-2006, 03:43 PM
Well, what kinda air compressor is it? Can it output up to the 3000 psi of the tank you linked to?

I'd doubt hes got an air compresor cpapble of that, but maybe, if so, you'd be lucky...

At least fiber wrapped tanks don't explode...

druid
04-30-2006, 03:58 PM
At least fiber wrapped tanks don't explode...

really??..........^^^^^^^........scroll.........^^ ^^^^^^^^^^.........

pman15
04-30-2006, 04:13 PM
i wouldn't go 4 that tank because that has about as much shots as a 9 ounce and 9 ounces only have approxometaly 425 shots

Hob Hayward
04-30-2006, 04:48 PM
really??..........^^^^^^^........scroll.........^^ ^^^^^^^^^^.........
Well thats what someone whos been playing for like 5 years told me. I'll go yell at him...

ooglieboogliebob
04-30-2006, 05:16 PM
actually the shotcount fluctuates .. but it's probably around the 480 range ... 10 * CI for 3000psi tanks
15 * CI for 4500psi tanks
But that's just an approximate thing ...

Go for the 72/3k tank .. 720 shots ... and just 64 dollars ... pretty cheap i might havta say .. check AVI :)

druid
04-30-2006, 08:24 PM
Well thats what someone whos been playing for like 5 years told me. I'll go yell at him...


haha...ok...copy the pic and email it to him instead...a pic's worth a thousand words...



and for the others interested....CLICK ME FOR A 'SHOT-PER-TANK CHART' (http://www.zdspb.com/tech/misc/resources/shotspertank.html)


.

DRAGON
04-30-2006, 08:48 PM
Ok I'm certainly not implying to fill a C02 tank with any sort of compressed air but.....currently C02 burst disk standard is at 3000psi. It used to be at 1800psi. N2 tanks like a 68/4500 have a 7000psi burst disk rating at the tank and 1800psi rating at the reg -

You could not put C02 in an N2 tank if you wanted to anyways because they cannot be filled through the valve or reg anyways. There is a piece in the reg that will prevent any pressure going backwards into the tank from the reg -

Your home compressor only has a 200psi or so output so you're not even going to get a gopher fart noise of pressure from a tank from 200psi -

If you're asking these type of questions, it's obvious you don't know what you're doing in the first place. If you want to be a terminated participant of mother natures natural selection process, ya gahead and mess with the tanks you know nothing about, Bon Voyage. If you would not like to participate in mother natures fast lane natural selection process, leave filling your tanks to the pro's. Compdddddddrende? -

If you play with fire you're gonna get burned.........:flame:

druid
04-30-2006, 09:47 PM
**pow!!! Dragon Breath!!!**

Paradox313
05-04-2006, 02:52 PM
ok ive changed my mind
Im going to buy the 72ci instead of the 48
but the nozzle looks a little bit smaller
i have a stock 05 electra ACS
do i have to buy an asa for the tank or can i use the stock

ps
The tank says N2 does the same thing apply
the compressed air into a compressed air tank
c02 into a c02 tank
or can i put n2 in a compressed air tank