PDA

View Full Version : Florida Boating Laws


jcrazyjj
04-24-2006, 09:13 PM
OK, as a graduation gift, my aunt is flying me down to fl for a week to her house, and i can use the jetskis, boat and ****. BUT,........... i lost my boater safety thingy, and i cant find it. ill be 18 when i go there, so if anybody is knowledgable of the boating laws, please let me know asap. im leaving in like month, wow alot longer that i thought, well thanks again.

durrell
04-24-2006, 09:25 PM
http://myfwc.com/boating/safety/law_summary.htm

Google FTW. :p

xNinja-Dolphinx
04-25-2006, 04:15 AM
A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft in this state
I found that in Durrels link it is highlited in there

Icedveins
04-25-2006, 05:13 AM
You need a Florida Safe Boaters license

jcrazyjj
04-25-2006, 10:41 AM
You need a Florida Safe Boaters license

sooo, basically i cant ride em, unless i take a course down there??

sweet [/sarcasim]

Hoppy11
04-25-2006, 12:31 PM
You may not since you are 18 and I am assuming that you have a drivers licence.

xNinja-Dolphinx
04-25-2006, 12:44 PM
I know Indiana's policy is you can drive a boat if you have your driver's lisence, of course there is no ocean up here

jcrazyjj
04-25-2006, 12:46 PM
heres what the law says:

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT REGULATIONS

Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear an approved non-inflatable Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device. Inflatable personal flotation devices are prohibited.

The operator of a personal watercraft must attach the engine cutoff switch lanyard (if equipped by the manufacturer) to his/her person, clothing, or PFD.

Personal watercraft may not be operated from hour after sunset to hour before sunrise.

Maneuvering a personal watercraft by weaving through congested vessel traffic, jumping the wake of another vessel unreasonably close or when visibility around the vessel is obstructed, or swerving at the last possible moment to avoid collision is classified as reckless operation of a vessel (a first-degree misdemeanor).

A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft in this state.

A person must be at least 18 years of age to rent a personal watercraft in this state.

It is unlawful for a person to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (a second-degree misdemeanor).


BOATER SAFETY EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Anyone 21 years of age and under who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boater safety identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. A person is exempt from this requirement if there is a person on board who is not affected by this law or is at least 18 years of age and holds a boater education I.D. card. This person must be attendant to and take responsibility for the safe operation of the vessel.


YAY!!

jcrazyjj
04-25-2006, 12:55 PM
online test anybody??? (http://www.boat-ed.com/fl/index.htm)