PDA

View Full Version : Professional paintballers

vikingshadow
04-14-2006, 01:27 PM
So I was thinking about all the talk of paintball players going professional, with the different leagues and so forth and it suddenly dawned on me. All of us refer to the TOP teams (XSV, Dynasty, etc) when referring to professional players. However, did you ever stop to think that I'm a professional paintball player (or was, as the case may be!) Not only that, but so are a lot of you guys!

Ok, so Vike's lost his mind. Not really! Let me explain my thinking......

A partial definition of PROFESSIONAL includes this:

Performed by persons receiving pay:
Having or showing great skill; expert:

Now, PAY is partially defined as: To give in exchange for goods or services; Of, relating to, giving, or receiving payments

SKILL is defined as:

Proficiency, facility, or dexterity that is acquired or developed through training or experience.

An art, trade, or technique, particularly one requiring use of the hands or body. A developed talent or ability.

Ok with these definitions in mind, let's discuss. How many of you have sponsors who either give you gear or give big discounts for it. All you have to do is play, do well in tournaments and represent your sponsor in a positive way. How many of you have placed and received things in tournaments? How many of you have the skill involved, dexterity, facility and proficiency to play the sport and use your hands and body to play the game? Go ahead, raise your hands!

Ok, I look at it like this. A professional athlete is one that gets "paid" for playing his/her sport. One who trains constantly and strives to become better to get paid more. People tend to forget that even "minor" league players get paid and are considered professionals.