PDA

View Full Version : Bolt Mod


divvichild
04-09-2006, 08:21 PM
Ive seen quite a few guys taking the venturi out of the stock redeo bolt. Is this a good idea and how much would it improve the performace?

druid
04-09-2006, 08:26 PM
Kingman techboiz thought it was a good idea...we remove them to prove them wrong...LOL. It makes the bolt higher flowing because there's no longer anything restricting the air-flow.

Long, slender-nosed pliers, heat to break the locktite

divvichild
04-09-2006, 08:32 PM
so would it increase consistency or anything else?

ooglieboogliebob
04-09-2006, 09:04 PM
nope .. increasing flow generally means up in fps

divvichild
04-09-2006, 09:54 PM
if i can already shoot at more than 350, is there no need to remove the venturi?

DRAGON
04-09-2006, 10:18 PM
if i can already shoot at more than 350, is there no need to remove the venturi?

One way to find out is do it. If you don't like the results screw it back in - ;)

druid
04-09-2006, 11:31 PM
well, every venturi I ever removed was all but destroyed....at least the front was mangled, anyway

DRAGON
04-10-2006, 01:22 AM
:questionicon: Think: 'The right tool for the right situation' -

druid
04-10-2006, 03:53 PM
LOL dragon...99.98% of us are not a Kingman Techboi...so "the right tool" option is a fairly limited one. Now...create a tool may be a different story...but then again, why grind a notch in a perfectly good flat-head screwdriver for a one-time operation. (until our gun-whoring kicks in, anyway)

divvichild
04-10-2006, 06:09 PM
so the question still remains: Remove it or not?

NitroBall
04-10-2006, 06:30 PM
divvichild if i can already shoot at more than 350, is there no need to remove the venturi?

as druid and ooglieboogliebob stated previously, removing the venturi improves the flow which will result in higher FPS.

Its entirely upto yourself what you do, people here can only give advise, not to make decisions for you.

with you already shooting more than 350 fps , would you need to ?

NitroBall
04-10-2006, 06:34 PM
also mabe you should know the legal limit is 300 fps or below, over 300 fps is dangerous .
some fields have a limit of 250/260

badoingle
04-10-2006, 07:21 PM
personally I'd just get a new bolt... but thats just me.

divvichild
04-10-2006, 07:27 PM
yes, i know the limit of 300fps. i crono every time i play, because i usually play with friendsand family, and i would not like them to get hurt. im just saying that i have cronoed at 350 before coz someone wanted to see. Ok, i just about had my mind made up away.

Why take it out when i dont need to increase fps?

So no, i wont take it out.

Thanks for all the info guys!

ooglieboogliebob
04-10-2006, 08:05 PM
how about this .... get a spring kit ... or cut a few loops on your main spring .. .and stretch it out .. it'll be softer this way ...

If you do get a springkit .. you can probably go with the light main and heavy valve and .. if you do the venturi mod .. it'll have better air flow which means ... less air consumption... generally speaking

thechubbss12
04-11-2006, 05:36 AM
Heh i like my tool that i use to remove venturi..... take two small t-gripped allen wrenches, then place them on opposite sides (inside the bolt) of the venturi. After that take a piece of metal (Personaly i used a aluminum piece that came off the the back of my E99) and use a medium size vicegrips too clamp the allumin to the Allen wrenches (Perfection). I removed each venturi without any damage to it and barley any damage to the bolt =)

SupermanDan
04-11-2006, 06:40 PM
so that's why my MR1 shoots so fast... i'm guessing it's not good if the venturi falls out on it's own... whatever. my field's limit is 300, and that's what it's set for. my rodeo is shooting 280. if i remove the venturi, what kind of increase could i be expecting?

tex
04-11-2006, 07:19 PM
There is no reason at all to be shooting at 350 fps. Just remember your mask is only rated to 300 fps. At my woods field, everyone is cronoed at 280 fps or less. I run at about 270fps.

divvichild
04-11-2006, 09:43 PM
If your shooting at 280, dont remove it. All it will do is increase the fps, which u dont need.

Hob Hayward
04-12-2006, 01:05 PM
Well, I took mine out, it acctually came out very easy, I stuck a screwdriver into one of the slots and just unscrewed it, no locktite on it, it wasn't even screwed in hard... It may acctually decrease your consistency, but I don't really know. I never used my bolt, I just did the mod because I was bored... You can also widen the hole that the air flows into when it enters the bolt, but thets only any good if you want to go low pressure...

ooglieboogliebob
04-12-2006, 07:21 PM
i just let the loctite burn for a minute or so and used my screwdriver that sorta looked like"
>

Seemed to do just fine ...