PDA

View Full Version : regulator modification question


Ibuildmyguns
08-31-2009, 10:27 AM
Hey guys, I really don't know a great deal about regulators so I had a question. I have a smart parts regulator that currently reads out between 0-300 psi. If I wanted to say have something that regulated (this is all in theory) 700 psi. Could I modify that one to with stand the new pressure, or do I simply need to find a different way to regulate the pressure?
Thanks, Matt

DRAGON
08-31-2009, 06:45 PM
Hey guys, I really don't know a great deal about regulators so I had a question. I have a smart parts regulator that currently reads out between 0-300 psi. If I wanted to say have something that regulated (this is all in theory) 700 psi. Could I modify that one to with stand the new pressure, or do I simply need to find a different way to regulate the pressure?
Thanks, Matt

Good news: if it's an older Max-flo they came in HP and LP versions -
Bad news: the differences are the piston, spring and body so you cannot convert the LP version to HP w/o a new body as well -

Ibuildmyguns
09-01-2009, 05:14 AM
Will it say on the body somewhere if its HP or LP? Provided it is the one you speak of.

DRAGON
09-01-2009, 02:13 PM
Will it say on the body somewhere if its HP or LP? Provided it is the one you speak of.

Far as I know there are no markings. You'd have to put it on a marker, attach a gauge, gas it up and see. 9 times out of 10 it's an LP version -

Ibuildmyguns
09-01-2009, 04:51 PM
Okay, well you have definitely answered my question. thanks man

DRAGON
09-02-2009, 07:43 PM
Hey, no prob bud - ;)