PDA

View Full Version : Internet speeds SUCK


Muddytaco
06-08-2009, 12:10 PM
Ok I use ATT uverse and its been good up until I got back from my cruise, now it sucks.

The day they put it in:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/319959988.png


Today when I ran the test:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/490866522.png


Called service and they said reset the router (standard answer for everything), After waiting 20 minutes for the factory reset it made my ping normal again and download better but now the upload speed totally sucks:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/491428258.png

O and i had to go in and reassign IP addresses by hand after that because it assigned the same IP address to everything on the router:rolleyes:



Does anybody know if its a setting a something there just not telling me? I am trying to upload pictures and its taking forever, I don't have time to set around and wait on my massive .17mps upload speed





edit:
OMG WTF

http://www.speedtest.net/result/491439043.png

bigred76
06-08-2009, 06:16 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/491628537.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

That's my fastest speed I've ever gotten, connecting to SmugMug's servers. Normally it is measured in kb/s for my upload. Relax, it'll speed up soon probably.

Hoppy11
06-08-2009, 06:20 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/491629984.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Hmm.. IDK Dave. I have never had friends have good luck with AT&T though.

bigred76
06-08-2009, 06:25 PM
I hate you, Hoppy. I would LOVE to borrow your internet for while I'm uploading pictures.

DFSniper
06-08-2009, 06:42 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/491640006.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

running wireless G. sucks though because the microwave is in the kitchen between my room and the dining room, so if someone turns it on, it'll kill my connection :(

bigred76
06-08-2009, 06:59 PM
I run WirelessN. Great stuff, just the net connection sucks. I got worse numbers than the ones I posted above when I tested it straight into the modem via wire. :confused:

Hoppy11
06-08-2009, 07:03 PM
Tim, you don't want to know what I get when I am hard lined then. Sorry lol.

TheDarkShadow
06-08-2009, 07:12 PM
I don't know what you guys are complaining about.....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/491652646.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Nader
06-09-2009, 12:10 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/492225109.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Huh.

Critical
06-09-2009, 02:47 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/492324025.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Not too shabby, I knew my old router was killing my speed, just didn't expect it to double.

Karnivor'sFan
06-09-2009, 03:45 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/492225109.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Huh.

lol one of the first times i see upload beating download

anyways heres mine ,not bad, but upgrading to the 25mb one ;)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/492351725.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

bigred76
06-09-2009, 05:18 PM
Looks like we need Comcast, Dave. They're all beating us with it! :eek:

shunut
06-09-2009, 06:15 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/492420388.png

I just got Qwest Fiber Optic last week. We have the option to go all the way up to 20 Mb/s, right now we are at 7.

Muddytaco
06-09-2009, 09:03 PM
Switched to openDNS servers and......

http://www.speedtest.net/result/492488290.png


Turns out ATT DNS servers blow.

timmyshoota
06-09-2009, 09:53 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/492507513.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Get on my level *****es. :p

bigred76
06-09-2009, 10:50 PM
Chris, there's a couple words that I want to tell you but I'm not quite certain that the filter'll catch them. IM me and I'll pass those two wonderful gems onto you.

Karnivor'sFan
06-10-2009, 09:19 AM
Muddytaco , if you change to open servers does it affects anything ? does it becomes faster? also does the windows 03 tutorial works with Xp? thanks

Team Ramrod
06-11-2009, 05:48 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/493523448.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

:(

Muddytaco
06-11-2009, 07:29 AM
Muddytaco , if you change to open servers does it affects anything ? does it becomes faster? also does the windows 03 tutorial works with Xp? thanks

My connection is ATT elite which is maxed and 6mbs down and 1 mbs up, so using the openDNS servers pretty much maxes out my connection to what it should be.

DNS servers are in charge of finding the web url and turning it into a IP number the computer can actually follow. ex: www.yahoo.com is 209.131.36.158.....it won't actually effect your service in anyway.

Basically the quicker the DNS can find the page IP number the quicker it can load.

If you want to do it on XP:

Start -> Control Panel -> Network Connections -> Right Click Your Connection -> Properties -> Double Click Internet Protocol -> Select Use The Following DNS Server Address -> Preferred: 208.67.222.222 Alternate: 208.67.220.220 -> Click OK -> Your connection may or may not cut off for just a few secs while it changes setting

If its not any faster its easy to change back, however it sped up both my desktops, my laptop, ipod touch and xbox 360. I haven't even had a hint of lag on 360 since it changing it.

shunut
06-11-2009, 11:40 AM
I was at the hospital today because my best friend's daughter was having surgery. I got on one of their computers checked their speed 97mb/s download 38mb/s upload. I tried to get on here and post it but it had the site blocked.

Karnivor'sFan
06-12-2009, 08:51 AM
Ok ty :)

xsgmike66x
06-27-2009, 07:50 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/505066720.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

irishwarrior
06-27-2009, 06:14 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/505350175.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I dunno what's up with you guys' internet but mine is pretty fast.

pb34
06-27-2009, 08:35 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/505394316.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Can't complain about that.

Moe
06-27-2009, 08:57 PM
this is not ok.


http://www.speedtest.net/result/505401118.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

irishwarrior
06-27-2009, 09:02 PM
Dang Moe, maybe you should get that checked out.

STRIKEFIRST
06-28-2009, 08:52 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/505685030.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Not bad...when it is working...Comcast is prone to "temproary outages"

Ace24
06-28-2009, 06:32 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/505932188.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I really need to switch back to Road Runner.

HelpDeskHustler
06-29-2009, 03:01 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/506125626.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

IDK thats not too slow IMO. If you really need 5Mbps idk what you're doing.

DFSniper
06-29-2009, 07:32 AM
Can't run speedtest on my phone :(

Ace24
06-29-2009, 08:33 AM
I'm a gamer and I do a lot of photo uploading and stuff... so fast internet is a must have.

HelpDeskHustler
06-29-2009, 11:36 AM
I don't see a need really... I'm a gamer and 1Mbps is fast enough download.

bigred76
06-29-2009, 12:54 PM
No, Claus, we're talking upload here. Without upload speed, my internet is complete crap.

STRIKEFIRST
06-29-2009, 03:19 PM
No, Claus, we're talking upload here. Without upload speed, my internet is complete crap.

+1

HelpDeskHustler
06-29-2009, 03:36 PM
No, Claus, we're talking upload here. Without upload speed, my internet is complete crap.

yeah, I know but everybody knows internet companies spam download speed so normal folks don't get their porn slowed down.