PDA

View Full Version : CO2 compatible with ???


mrpain
03-09-2009, 05:21 PM
Is CO2 compatible with copper ?

I know it is with brass but not sure about copper.

slim and shady
03-09-2009, 10:35 PM
I dont see why not

oldironmudder
03-10-2009, 06:55 AM
As long as its rated for the pressure. Figure 2000psi for unregulated Co2 & 1000psi for regulated.

mrpain
03-10-2009, 08:41 AM
As long as its rated for the pressure. Figure 2000psi for unregulated Co2 & 1000psi for regulated.


I was under the impression CO2 was under 1000 psi...........
I know some gas will corrode copper.

oldironmudder
03-10-2009, 08:58 AM
I was under the impression CO2 was under 1000 psi...........
I know some gas will corrode copper.

Due to its operation at pressures of up to 130 bars, CO2 systems require highly resistant components ...............

130 BARS converts to 1885.494 PSI

Converter here. (http://www.centauro-owners.com/articles/psibar.html)

When dealing with pressure, always build it to handle twice as much as needed if you can.