PDA

View Full Version : Mac VS Windows


jcrazyjj
03-10-2006, 11:52 AM
ok, if i were to build a complete computer from the ground up, can i just install OS X, or do i need special components to use OS X? jw, cause i am an avid photoshopper, but i havent used it in the Os operating system. i am also aware i can install two operating systems and choose which one i want to use on start-up, but can i do that w/ windows and OS X

NB_Hacker_NB
03-10-2006, 11:55 AM
I am sure you can do it with Windows and OS X but im not very sure how and what you need because I dont do it but my uncle does.

UKwithPride
03-10-2006, 11:59 AM
Just get a powermac, I use the powermacs at school, and I love them so much more than windows.

colonel_moo
03-10-2006, 12:00 PM
there is a program called "grub" that boots up before your OS so you can pick which one you want to use. i have both XP and linux installed on my comp now.

however, im not sure if you can use OS X on an intel chipset. i dont own a mac, so i dont really know much about them. im sure phatphil can give you an answer...

jcrazyjj
03-10-2006, 12:56 PM
Just get a powermac, I use the powermacs at school, and I love them so much more than windows.

because i have 2g to spend on a computer??

Moe
03-10-2006, 01:21 PM
because i have 2g to spend on a computer??

who doesnt???? come on man. get with the times! lol. As for your question....you would probably need two seperate processors. and different graphics and sound cards...maybe??i dont know. the only things i know you could share would be the harddrive and CD/DVD drives....i think. Im not fo-sho.

Nader
03-10-2006, 01:23 PM
The newer macs now have intel chips, so the newer version of OSX should support x86 architecture, I don't know how to build a computer from the ground up, so I wouldn't know how to make one that can dual boot. I know it is possible now for Intel Macs to dual boot, and it will be even easier when Window Vista comes out, supposedly.

And you said you have 2g to spend on a comp?
Both the new intel macs that came out are under $2000, except for the upper model MacBook.

jcrazyjj
03-10-2006, 02:09 PM
And you said you have 2g to spend on a comp?
Both the new intel macs that came out are under $2000, except for the upper model MacBook.

that was a comment towards UKwithPride cause the cheapest Powermac is 2g. ill look into it more, i dont have plans on doing it anytime soon, but thanks for the help

DFSniper
03-12-2006, 12:48 PM
wow, im lookin at spending no more than $600 for the case and guts of my gaming computer... and it seems that windows would be more user friendly if youre making a custom pc. just curious: has anyone seen pics/stats of a custom mac?

jcrazyjj
03-12-2006, 06:34 PM
wow, im lookin at spending no more than $600 for the case and guts of my gaming computer


same here, i dont need some amazing gaming comp, but im looking @

1gb ram (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145505)
250gb HDD (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822148065)
EVGA 7600GT Video Card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130283)
ASPIRE X-Dreamer ATXB3KLW-BK (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811144001)
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131517)
NEC Black IDE/ATAPI 16X DVD±R DVD Burner (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16827152058)

not sure bout CPU or Sound Card, yet, but so far total is $593.96, plus atleast another $100 for the two things i just listed,

if u have any recommendation on cheaper, but still quality parts i can use lemme know. if ur feeling bored, build me a whole computer and all, i have the moniter, mouse, speaker, etc. i need the case and everything inside of it.

remember, i am not a gamer, a majority of my computer time is spent photoshopping, surfing the interweb, listening to music, so alot of RAM is good. all help is appreciated.

claustrophobia9
03-13-2006, 02:03 PM
its like asking "should i vote democrat or republican" (neither of these parties affilate with either mac or microsoft btw) id go with windows simply because xbox is made by windows (i can link my box to my comp), im firmilair with windows, local businesses (for me) use windows, the list goes on, but it all boils down to preference imo, both great systems, choose a computer that fits your needs regarless of what it runs on, unless you really want a certain thing (which by this post, it appears not) if you choose windows invest in virus protection, cuz no offense but from my expirience, you suck at keeping them out... ;)

jcrazyjj
03-13-2006, 04:35 PM
its like asking "should i vote democrat or republican" (neither of these parties affilate with either mac or microsoft btw) id go with windows simply because xbox is made by windows (i can link my box to my comp), im firmilair with windows, local businesses (for me) use windows, the list goes on, but it all boils down to preference imo, both great systems, choose a computer that fits your needs regarless of what it runs on, unless you really want a certain thing (which by this post, it appears not) if you choose windows invest in virus protection, cuz no offense but from my expirience, you suck at keeping them out... ;)

1.) it wasnt a virus, it was a bad RAM Module!!!
2.) good points on operating system.
3.) what do u think of my hardware choices??

DFSniper
03-14-2006, 11:20 AM
for jcrazyjj
80GB (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822135106)should be fine unless youre a photo-taking psycho like my mom...
should be good enough (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102681)

for CPUs, i would suggest a pentium 4 ht 3.02ghz (or just wait for the dual-core processors!)

jcrazyjj
03-14-2006, 12:38 PM
for jcrazyjj
80GB (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822135106)should be fine unless youre a photo-taking psycho like my mom...
should be good enough (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102681)

for CPUs, i would suggest a pentium 4 ht 3.02ghz (or just wait for the dual-core processors!)


thanks homie

claustrophobia9
03-14-2006, 12:48 PM
for jcrazyjj
80GB (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822135106)should be fine...
or if you use any adobe programs frequently.... especially premire pro, photoshop only starts using a ton of space if you save frequently and in different spots and formats like you should (when working on something big)

ive had maybe 12 computers that have lived their full life and only one (which my brother used, and infected with every known virus on earth, arguably the best of all the computers weve had) has had ram problems.

i really see windows as being better for me because of the following
1. xbox, listed before
2. my friends all have it, so when they come over and use my computer they arent like wtf
3. what can i say, i dont feel threatened by bill gates, he runs like a girl
4. http://www.g4tv.com/videos/index.html?video_key=10354
5. 3 and 4 are the same
6. i grew up on windows
7 hp doesnt make macs (my dad used to work for hp so im plauged with them forever)

jcrazyjj
03-14-2006, 12:57 PM
good points again.

i moved to a 120GB HDD, cause the 80 Df suggested seems to small, and the 20GB i have now, well, self explanitory!!

what AMD 939socket CPU do u suggest?

claustrophobia9
03-14-2006, 01:34 PM
radeon(sp) are the best... uh... 939 means nothing to me.

DFSniper
03-15-2006, 12:31 PM
overkill? (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562)
your every-day processor (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103622)

personally, i would go with a Pentium 4, because you can get a 3.2GHz one for about the same as the 2nd one i posted.

jcrazyjj
03-15-2006, 12:50 PM
radeon(sp) are the best... uh... 939 means nothing to me.

uhh, clause last time i checked, radeon didnt make processors.

claustrophobia9
03-15-2006, 02:41 PM
uhh, clause last time i checked, radeon didnt make processors.
my bad i was thinking video/graphics area, the radeon featured in ati products... sorry stadardized tests tire me a lil bit

spydr
03-16-2006, 02:16 PM
but i havent used it in the Os operating system.
OS stands for operating system ;)
as in:
Mac Operating System v10.4
If your into photography,get a mac for aperture. If you havent seen the video for it go look at it here:
http://www.apple.com/aperture/
Get a mac because its easier to use,and when you are working with a bunch of pictures it gets annoying.With your budget of $2000 This is what i recommend:
Item Price Item Total
iMac 20-inch 2GHz Intel Core Duo
SuperDrive 8x (DVD+R DL/DVD+RW/CD-RW)
ATI Radeon X1600/128MB VRAM
Accessory kit
250GB Serial ATA drive
Keyboard & Mighty Mouse + Mac OS X - U.S. English
1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 1x1GB
Estimated Ship: 1-3 business days
Remove $1,799.00 $1,799.00
Cart Subtotal: $1,799.00
Advantages:
Superdrive so you could burn slideshows and movies for clients.
128 megs video ram-good for graphics design
250GB HD-More than enough
and 2Ghz intel core Duo=:)
So it would be great for multitasking ie.Designing work for clients and live chatting with them at the same time.You can specify the computer to run certain tasks on certain processors so you can run photoshop on one 2.0ghz processor and then iChat/Adium/Iphoto/whatever on the other.(It does this automatically i believe) iPhoto06 features photocasting,so you could load your current deisgn in iphoto upload to .mac nearly instantly and your client can go to the password or non password protected site and view the file. (This whole process taking at most 20 seconds.)

jcrazyjj
03-16-2006, 02:39 PM
With your budget of $2000

i wish, my budget is like $700 tops!!!

spydr
03-16-2006, 03:36 PM
because i have 2g to spend on a computer??
:confused:
i wish, my budget is like $700 tops!!!

jcrazyjj
03-16-2006, 04:15 PM
:confused:

sarcasim, hard to tell across the interweb, my bad

spydr
03-16-2006, 05:32 PM
ah for 700,if you already haev a display: lower end mini FTW
if you dont:build a PC

jcrazyjj
03-16-2006, 05:40 PM
i have a display and everything else, just not the actual computer part!! i have a friend that will put it all together for me so that not a problem, but i want to get the most out of my $700