PDA

View Full Version : well i just bought the apex barrel


taconator
12-28-2008, 08:54 PM
it will get here on friday.Ihope it fits but if it dosent i think i will sell it or make it fit?

jim762
12-29-2008, 02:09 AM
Why wouldn't it fit???? Did you order one with a shroud??? why not just sell the shroud and keep the APEX?

RSX99
12-29-2008, 06:41 AM
Not really sure you can MAKE it fit if you're referring to threading.

hoodtrix
12-29-2008, 07:44 AM
i bought one, first i got the one with shroud, and it didnt fit, second the apex barrel is a large bore so i just took it off got a J&J adaptor and you guessed it put it on J&J cer.

villageidiot019
12-29-2008, 08:54 AM
my Apex barrel fits fine, that's weird how yours didn't fit

DFSniper
12-29-2008, 02:09 PM
if it doesnt fit when you get it, there are 2 screws on the bottom of the shroud. the first eas easy to get to because its in the back near the threading. the second is under the sling loop on the front sight, so you'll have to take that off first. loosen those, then screw the barrel onto your gun. then slide the back piece you unscrewed up to the marker body, and tighten it down again. attach the shroud, the front piece that holds the shroud together, and then the front sight. push the sight so that it holds the shroud snug, and screw it back in place.

if you need any help, feel free to catch me on AIM.

taconator
12-29-2008, 04:03 PM
thank you guys a lot!!!!!!!!:)

taconator
01-05-2009, 03:52 PM
what kind of screwdrivers do i use to take out the screws because the allen keys dont fit?:(

DFSniper
01-05-2009, 04:01 PM
for the shroud or apex itself? i used a 2mm allen wrench for the shroud.

taconator
01-05-2009, 04:20 PM
ok thanks i will let you know how it went later

taconator
01-05-2009, 08:01 PM
man it dosent fit :( do i have too move the front grip or something???


im am like freaking out man!!!

DFSniper
01-05-2009, 08:08 PM
are you trying to get to the front or back? for hte back, you have to take the shroud off to get to the screw.

taconator
01-05-2009, 08:11 PM
wait no like goin in to the gun dosent fit? i already took the shroud off of the barrel but it dosent fit going inside the gun?

DFSniper
01-05-2009, 08:16 PM
you mean the barrel is too wide? thats weird. can you take some pics?

taconator
01-05-2009, 08:20 PM
no camera? or way to upload them:confused: my computer isnt exactly the best in the world so yea but there is another way by phone but you know thats kinda wiered

DFSniper
01-05-2009, 08:26 PM
my phone doesnt do images :(

um, ok, lets tear this apart, bit by bit.

1) take the plastic shroud pieces off
2) take the sling loop off, theres is screw underneath it. loosen it with a 2mm allen wrench
3) there is a screw on the back part of the barrel shroud piece, loosen that, but keep it from sliding off the barrel.
4) screw the barrel onto the gun
5) tighten back part of the shroud piece down so that its as flush with the barrel as possible.
6) reassemble shroud and tighten the front sight screw down.

now, where are you stuck at?

taconator
01-05-2009, 08:28 PM
number4?:confused:

Modded-Like-Hell
01-05-2009, 08:52 PM
we need a pic!!! do you have a mini SD card in ur phone? where u can connect it to the pc and then post it up? or plug ur phone to the cpu to upload it?

taconator
01-05-2009, 08:55 PM
ok i wil try give me like some minutes?

oh and i know it threads perfectly but only if i take of the guns shroud?

DFSniper
01-06-2009, 02:15 PM
wait, you cant slide the back part of the barrel shroud (round thing) up enough to clear the mr3 shroud?

Modded-Like-Hell
01-06-2009, 04:08 PM
he never came back on? wtf

taconator
01-06-2009, 04:53 PM
sorry i took so long:( but here you go i think you can see the problem

http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr208/tac094/352780513_1213000563_0.jpg



http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr208/tac094/352780512_1213000560_0.jpg

ok see it wont go in but if i take off the mr3's shroud it dose thread

Modded-Like-Hell
01-06-2009, 05:08 PM
oh ok... that barrel is thicker on the top and it wont slide in the shroud,
are u sure that was made for the mr3?
how far down the the barrel go into the shroud?

taconator
01-06-2009, 05:19 PM
a little bit half way

TheDarkShadow
01-06-2009, 05:34 PM
can you move the shroud on the barrel?

taconator
01-06-2009, 05:36 PM
thats what i did but the barrel is too thick in the middle so it wont budge but can i try grinding it?:confused:

just asking

DFSniper
01-06-2009, 05:47 PM
very odd. either you can machine the barrel down which would mess up the anno, or you can try to bore out the shroud more. is the shroud plastic or metal? it looks metal but i always thought they were plastic.

Modded-Like-Hell
01-06-2009, 05:49 PM
they should be made of metal since they have the weaver rail on top to put scopes and other rails stuff on it

taconator
01-06-2009, 05:52 PM
can i still play with the mr3 if the shroud isnt on it then?:confused:

i can put pics up later but i have to do this project so maybe tomorrow

jim762
01-06-2009, 11:13 PM
I think you can take the shroud off , and it will look just like the MR2. It is part of the assault body that Kingman sells. Or you can take it to a machine shop and have them bore it out. I would get it bored out. It all depends what you want it to look like when its finished.

Modded-Like-Hell
01-07-2009, 09:11 AM
he just wants the apex barrel to fit in there... just get the shroud machined... still wondering if it sold to him for the MR3 or just made for spyder?

taconator
01-07-2009, 05:21 PM
i just want to play with the apex but yea i see what i can do i will post pics and video later?

slim and shady
01-07-2009, 10:28 PM
do you havr another aftermarket barrel for your MR3 that fits in the shroud? it so just put the apex tip on that barrel you will get better resaults as well. and when you turn the apex "off" you will still have as good of accuracy as anyone else on the feild.

taconator
01-08-2009, 06:10 PM
nope but might buy a J&J later on and you have a good point here are the pics of the shroud taken off both the barrel and the gun

http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr208/tac094/52.jpg

http://i484.photobucket.com/albums/rr208/tac094/7.jpg

oh and forgot to ask if like anything would happen if i play like this?

Modded-Like-Hell
01-08-2009, 06:26 PM
i cant image anything happening to it but make sure thoses eyes are covered good

taconator
01-08-2009, 06:38 PM
ok thanks for the help oh and do i need to have any special things to put the apex tip on another barrel?

DFSniper
01-08-2009, 06:39 PM
some suggest adapters, but i just take the connect piece on the tip of the barrel off and put it on another barrel.

taconator
01-08-2009, 06:58 PM
soo just take off the tip and put it on the other barrel?

DFSniper
01-08-2009, 07:37 PM
yep, it should fit depending on the width of the barrel.

taconator
01-08-2009, 08:05 PM
ok thanks

slim and shady
01-08-2009, 08:12 PM
nothing will hurt the marker using it without the cosmetic shroud.
you can buy a ums adapter for the apex tip or just put a few wraps of electrical tape around the tip of the barrel and put the tip on. works all the same. the only place you may run into trouble is if the barrel has a large or flaired out tip, then you have to macheine it down.

taconator
01-08-2009, 08:15 PM
oh ok then ok thanks?

Modded-Like-Hell
01-08-2009, 08:17 PM
if u are gonna buy another barrel then just find one with a flat front-end on it

taconator
01-11-2009, 07:34 PM
ok

sneekypete
01-12-2009, 08:50 PM
if u are gonna buy another barrel then just find one with a flat front-end on it
Like the J&J ceramic. I just used tape for my set up. I really like the apex tip with the J&J

taconator
01-13-2009, 04:32 PM
even better because that was the barrel that im gonna buy

sneekypete
01-13-2009, 04:34 PM
Cool. What size?

taconator
01-13-2009, 04:36 PM
u was thinking 14" or 16" but most likely 14"

sneekypete
01-13-2009, 04:40 PM
Well just so you know. I have the 14 inch and needed to mod the front sight to fit so if you want to do something like mine then I would go with the 16 inch just to give you a little exta room.

taconator
01-14-2009, 10:22 PM
what do you mean mod it like what di you do?

sneekypete
01-15-2009, 07:46 PM
There was a little end that stuck out from the bottem and would not fit with the Apex so I cut it off. That is all, was not hard just used a side grinder but if you get the 16 inch you will have lots of room

taconator
01-17-2009, 09:26 PM
ohh ok thanks