PDA

View Full Version : blowback assisted bolt action


bungeye
03-04-2006, 12:16 PM
hey i saw bomberpilots bolt action gun. and i wanted do make 1, except make it mre likr a rifle. This guy down south offered me a free icon z, so i am going to use it to do the mod.

here it is on my site, i will start modifying asap.

http://www.freewebs.com/bungeyestudios/paintball.htm

Muddytaco
03-04-2006, 01:26 PM
Looks like you got a great idea going there. Here are just a few things I would change just to give it a cleaner look IMO:

your original pic:
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y41/muddytaco/icon20z20rifle.jpg


After my suggestions:
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y41/muddytaco/icon20z20riflechanged.jpg

1: change the placement of the asa so you can shoulder it better
2: give the stock more hieght to cover the bottom tube but still have the back open for easy access to the bottom tube internals, also extend it forward just a little bit more.
3: run 2 90 degree fittings at the reg so the air line can stay tight with the body, then run the air though the stock or in a slot cut in the stock for a more cleaner appearance.

claustrophobia9
03-04-2006, 01:41 PM
my question is whether or not you will be able to get the trigger to trip the sear properly for what you are proposing.

colonel_moo
03-04-2006, 06:43 PM
my question is whether or not you will be able to get the trigger to trip the sear properly for what you are proposing.

why not?

1. get a single frame
2. cut it
3. put wood around it
4.
5. profit

bungeye
03-04-2006, 08:18 PM
what will be the best way to run it through the frame? should i cut a trench thing at the bottom of it the the hose sits in there?

bungeye
03-04-2006, 08:22 PM
also does any1 no where i could get 2ft of macroline from?

ooglieboogliebob
03-05-2006, 07:17 AM
don't think i'v seen that before .. but you can get 2 feet of steel braided hose i believe

claustrophobia9
03-05-2006, 08:13 AM
why not?

1. get a single frame
2. cut it
3. put wood around it
4.
5. profit

depends if hes picky where the stock is in relation to the gun.. if he does...

step 4 = realize youll have to modify the wood stock if the trigger isnt in the perfect spot for it and dremel that until your eyes bleed.

ttink
03-05-2006, 09:04 AM
Perhaps try a tank setup like this one? (http://invisionfree.com/forums/StockClassPaintball/index.php?showtopic=12418) look about halfway down.

bigred76
03-05-2006, 02:54 PM
2ft macro hoses you can find sometimes on the Nation. Just look around and you're bound to find some sooner or later.

Nice idea. :waytogo:

splater18
03-05-2006, 04:43 PM
i would recomend getting a stell braided line just b/c if the macroline pops or leaks u have to feed it out of the wood and that would be hard but if u get steel braided line it wont break as easy so u dont hve to change it. but the problem would be u cANT CUT IT SO U WOULD HAVE TO GET ONE THAT FITS PREFECT OF A(srry caps lock nothing personal or offending) very close to perfect

bungeye
03-05-2006, 10:04 PM
hey i have added a new pic to my site. its the final design of it. (knowing me i will change my mind about something on it)

http://www.freewebs.com/bungeyestudios/paintball.htm

DFSniper
03-06-2006, 10:08 AM
cool. see if you can get a spool of macro incase it blows...

ooglieboogliebob
03-06-2006, 01:02 PM
i'v never seen macro in spools .. i should look for some :)

Ares
03-06-2006, 01:09 PM
ditch that foregrip and run the hose directly to the VA with an ASA to 1/8npt adapter( like those found on a remote)

leed
03-06-2006, 06:20 PM
Cheapest Macroline (http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1142524) through a Middleman. It should come in spools if you buy enough of it.

I also would recommend you integrate the tank into the stock. If not, run the hose off the side of it, but have the QD sort of angled out in a crevice

I'm not sure how you would run the macroline inside so that the fittings would be perfectly placed. You could try threading the outside of a Inline fitting, so that it can screw into the wood. It would be a lot easier if you made a small 'trench' on one side (probably left side if you're right handed) and then make an aluminium, or copper, or brass or whatnot cover for it, making it much much easier to replace.

DFSniper
03-07-2006, 12:42 AM
what size tank you plan on runnin? since its gonna be heavy anyways, i would suggest a 4oz or 12 gram adapter. and dont worry about the expansion chamber, everyone knows theyre worthless.

ZippyWilikens286
03-07-2006, 03:14 AM
he could always carve a channel out of the stock and hardline it...

bungeye
03-07-2006, 06:27 PM
stuff it im gona get ss braid. im not sure if i shoud cut the stock in half nd run the line thru the middle nd bolt it together, or do as u said run the line thru a channel along the side

bungeye
03-12-2006, 07:45 PM
i started on the gun yesterday
http://www.freewebs.com/bungeyestudios/paintball.htm

working on the bolt at the moment