PDA

View Full Version : help me decide!!


DFSniper
08-15-2008, 05:26 PM
i'm building a new PC, and hope to finish my list by tomorrow. the one thing i can't seem to decide on though is the motherboard. i didn't want to spend over $65 on a mobo, but i found one that was a little out of my price range that i liked. i don't know if i should skimp out and get a basic motherboard, or get something a little better that won't be outdated so fast. here's what i've picked so far:


Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0GHz CPU (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115037)
PNY 2 x 1GB Dual Channel DDR2 800 RAM (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820178154)
Zotac NVidia 8800GT graphics card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500006)

and the motherboards:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130177
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138121
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138122

all these meet my basic requirements, so i have a list of things i would LIKE in a motherboard:
PCI Express 2.0 x16 - if i'm going to get a new graphics card, i'd like to be able to fully use it and not be stuck with a mobo that can only handle 1.1. unfortunately, only the expensive motherboard has 2.0.
Dual Channel RAM - same as the PCI-E, i'd like to be able to use it if i have it. the MSI board doesn't mention it, but both Biostar boards have it.
FSB speed/ Memory Standard - i would like to have 1600 FSB and higher memory standard in case i decided to upgrade the PC down the road, but i'm not sure if i will.
Overclocking - all seem to be good at overclocking, but i'm not sure how FSB/Memory Standard affects OC

i hope theres someone with a little more PC knowledge out there that can help me figure these things out. the most important ones are the PCI-E 2.0 and Dual Channel RAM, but i'd like to be able to OC it some too.


tl;dr - should i get the more expensive motherboard or not?

Modded-Like-Hell
08-15-2008, 06:01 PM
i think by looking at the 3 mobo, i think i would go with the last one cuz it has 4 slots for memory, the first one is a micro board and im not to fond with a small board when it comes to heat, more heat when everything is together, but thats just me

mrpurplehawk
08-15-2008, 07:11 PM
man if you like and and can afford it get it because if its better then it will help in the long run

DFSniper
08-15-2008, 08:59 PM
modded, well i'll have about 4-5 fans in my case when i'm done, plus the CPU uses 45nm tech, which barely heats up at all compared to 65nm tech! and because i'm running 32-bit XP, i don't need the 4th slot since it'll only read 3.33GB anyway :( if i DO get the 3rd mobo, i'll probably get faster RAM though.

SpyderMan723
08-15-2008, 09:11 PM
so......much.......nerdy.........jargon......head. ......is going.........to........EXPLODE!!!1

durrell
08-15-2008, 10:39 PM
Why are you going with the C2D when you can get a quad for only 15 more bucks? Just wondering.

Pretty sure FSB is important for OC'ing, but I have no first hand experience.

DFSniper
08-16-2008, 05:25 AM
D, i dont NEED a quad core. i'd rather have a faster processor than more processors. this is going to be solely for gaming, so i won't be having too many programs running at once, so i'm not too worried about multitasking. UT3 will probably be my most intense game and my friend's 2.53 can run that just fine.

durrell
08-16-2008, 08:59 AM
I suppose that works. :p

DFSniper
08-16-2008, 09:08 AM
haha.

well, i think i'm going to get the third one becase i've never heard of MSI, but my best friend's biostar lasted forever and i think its a better deal than most of the other ones out there and has gotten pretty good reviews. and then i'm going to get 4 1gig sticks of 1066 OCZ Reaper RAM because they're pretty much half off, but the rebate ends today!

now i just have to track down a copy of 64 bit XP... any help with that?

durrell
08-16-2008, 09:34 AM
I have an MSI board and it has been great.

And if you're just gaming, honestly you'd be better off with 2GB of RAM (or 3 if you wish, but 2GB if Dual Channel is just as good) as opposed to 4GB of RAM with 64-bit driver woes.

I've yet to meet a non-business related person who thought 64-bit was worth the trouble.

Just my .02.

DFSniper
08-16-2008, 09:42 AM
i guess that would work, because i dont want to spend a lot of money on this PC and get more RAM later if i need it. but 2 gigs of ram for $45?? that's kind of hard to pass up...

oh well, its not like i NEED it right now.