PDA

View Full Version : Whats the problem with discontinued markers like TL-X

Paintball newbie!
06-28-2008, 06:19 AM
Hey, I am very new to paintball and was interested in buying a marker. I am getting a brand new Spyder TLX for much below the market rate (also because I am buying it in bulk) However, I am confused cuz of 2 things:
1. Why was the TLX discontinued?
2. Why is is cheaper than Tippmann Custom 98?
3. Are Tippmann Custom 98 much better rental guns?

DFSniper
06-28-2008, 07:49 AM
1) because newer models became available. its just like cars.

2) well, probably because its not in production anymore, so companies are trying to sell what they have left in stock and sell below MSRP. brand new, i'm sure the MSRP for the TLX and 98C was about the same.

3) thats arguable, but most will say yes because they require virtually no maintenance and are pretty durable.

slim and shady
06-28-2008, 06:29 PM
everyone always says tippmann is better, when we playe dthe winter invasion game it was -20 below freezing anyone with a tippy (mostly A-5's or 98's) sat at the fire wondering why there guns wouldnt work. Anyone with a spyder was playing, not a word of a lie. Im not saying tippmann is garbege im just saying there a little over hyped up in my opinion.

Spyderassassin
07-04-2008, 06:52 PM