PDA

View Full Version : Picking a marker, RS vs VS?

EyeMaster
05-02-2008, 03:04 PM
Hi all, I'm a noob at Paintballing. I went twice last year and vowed to buy my own equipment this year, so here I am. However, I got no idea how to pick something. I read the FAQ on barrels, markers and such, but how to start?

How do you pick a gun? In the computer world, it's easy, you just look at reviews and pick the components that give you better fps (frames per second) in your favorite games, but with paintball markers, it's more obscure! So, here I am, asking the experienced people for help.

I plan on doing more scenario than speedball. It's like the war games we used to play in the woods as a kid. The 2 brands that keep being mentioned is Tippmann and Spyders. At the events I went to, they were renting out Tippmann Custom 98's. I wasn't impressed, then tried an ION from a friend, and wow, a good gun is really worth it. Since Tipp and Spyder are the 2 ones I consider, I chose to go with a Spyder.

Now, I'm looking for a good all around gun that's good from the get-go. Of course, maybe I'll modify it later, but for now, need a good gun. I've narrowed it to either a Spyder (RS or RSX), or the (VS2 or VS3). What's the real difference between those guns? Am I going in the wrong direction with those guns?

The money is not the issue, although I don't want to pay an arm and a leg. I hate chopped balls or a gun that doesn't fire. Facilities use compressed air, but I'd like to be able to go buy the little cartridges of CO2 for fun in a private yard or testing / tuning / practice.

Are my choices good? RS and VS series? Maybe I should go to another brand? (blasphemy on a spyder forum! lol)

What do you guys suggest? And if I chose one of those series, any mods that are a must?

How many balls can you shoot before you have to change parts because they are used? 40000?

I appreciate your help guys. I am waiting for input, my 1st choice so far is the RS. Thanks!

OSOK