PDA

View Full Version : Potential MR2 Buyer

Solo842
04-25-2008, 06:32 PM
Hello, I am a newbie to the paintball sport and have only gone twice. I am thinking of buying the new 08 MR2 as my first marker, but have also been thinking about the Smart Parts SP1 as a first. Unlike my cousin who runs with a Ion i want a woodsball gun, thats fast and reliable. In your honest opinion, what marker should i get? I am leaning towards the MR2 because it has eyes and is faster than the sp1 but its an older blowback design instead of a electropneumatic. Other factors play in my decision, so i just need some outside input. thanks for all the help.

KingTutBaller
04-25-2008, 07:24 PM
Both are pretty good choices. I'm not an expert on Smart parts markers, so I'm not sure how hard it is to maintain... but if it's your first marker, a Spyder is always a safe choice. I like the look of the MR2 over the SP1, and the offset feedneck on the MR2 makes the rail alot more useful, where as the SP1 has a vertical feedneck.
I love how quiet the SP1's are compared to the MR series. If you wanna hide in some brush and play a sneakier role, you might like the SP1 better. It's like comparing someone slamming a door to opening a can of Pepsi. If you're all about full-auto rock'n'roll and assault type play where the noise isn't an issue, the MR2 can be a beast.

Best bet is to find a local pro shop or field that will let you test both markers, and see which you like the feel of more.